SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums - webmail


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn Ion > Ion Mods

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2007, 12:03 AM   #1
chanoir
Junior Member
chanoir is on a distinguished road
 
chanoir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 15

2004 ION-2 Quad Coupe
Roll Eyes Saturn Ion2 Cluster Swap with Redline cluster

Hey everyone,

Has anyone tried to to swap out their clusters? If yes, is it plug and play or is their some reprogramming involved?

I have an Ion 2 and I just got my hands on a beautifull Redline cluster.

Please tell me it's doable!!

Thanks
chanoir is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 03-11-2007, 09:54 AM   #2
06_Ion2
Senior Member
06_Ion2 is on a distinguished road
 
06_Ion2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: lino lakes Minnesota
Posts: 1,582
 

2006 ION-2 Quad Coupe
Default Re: Saturn Ion2 Cluster Swap with Redline cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by chanoir View Post
Hey everyone,

Has anyone tried to to swap out their clusters? If yes, is it plug and play or is their some reprogramming involved?

I have an Ion 2 and I just got my hands on a beautifull Redline cluster.

Please tell me it's doable!!

Thanks
nope its not unless you know a saturn tech really well
...
VISIT MY CARDOMAIN --> http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2259877
s256 turbo, vulcan intake, exedy clutch, 8.9:1, camed, eagle rods, 2.4 tb, B&G coilovers, patriot head, stage 2 axels 418whp 2.2 :)
06_Ion2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 12:58 PM   #3
IonSpeedMaster
Member
IonSpeedMaster is on a distinguished road
 
IonSpeedMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Delaware
Posts: 261
 

2004 ION-2 Sedan
Default Re: Saturn Ion2 Cluster Swap with Redline cluster

Well you better get your hands off of it cause most likely it wont work, and then youre just going to have those white gauges staring you in the face and not doing anything
IonSpeedMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 01:09 PM   #4
IonFeright
Member
IonFeright is on a distinguished road
 
IonFeright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 191
 

2005 ION-3 Quad Coupe
2007 ION-2 Sedan
Default Re: Saturn Ion2 Cluster Swap with Redline cluster

Thats a good idea if it would work. I know a 2.4L guy with HPtuners that says he can go well over 120mph after the tune but the speedo stops at 120 so he doesnt know how fast he is going.
...
05' Ion QC3

75 shot
IonFeright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 01:25 PM   #5
chanoir
Junior Member
chanoir is on a distinguished road
 
chanoir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 15

2004 ION-2 Quad Coupe
Thumbs Up Re: Saturn Ion2 Cluster Swap with Redline cluster

I plugged it in and it works good no problem. But the milage indicates the original car milage. The indicator indicates service engine wich just means that my ECU does not recognize the new Cluster. It's not plug and play for everyones info. All I need to do is recalibrate my ECU with the new cluster.

Confirmed with my dealer!!
chanoir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 03:12 PM   #6
IonFeright
Member
IonFeright is on a distinguished road
 
IonFeright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 191
 

2005 ION-3 Quad Coupe
2007 ION-2 Sedan
Default Re: Saturn Ion2 Cluster Swap with Redline cluster

Sweeet!!! Ill have to take a look at a junk yard. Still under warranty for a few thousand miles so hopefully they'll take care of me.
...
05' Ion QC3

75 shot
IonFeright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2007, 10:14 AM   #7
chanoir
Junior Member
chanoir is on a distinguished road
 
chanoir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 15

2004 ION-2 Quad Coupe
Default Re: Saturn Ion2 Cluster Swap with Redline cluster

Ok, Cluster installed...Reprogrammed my BCM...Cluster works fine except...The Milage doesn't go up anymore...It stopped counting. Possible incompatibility with sensors. Does anyone here know anything about BCM reprogramming? Maybe my tech missed something.

Thanks
...
www.clubsaturnquebec.com
chanoir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 11:48 PM   #8
NickL30
Member
NickL30 has a spectacular aura aboutNickL30 has a spectacular aura about
 
NickL30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Iowa
Posts: 247

2004 ION-3 Quad Coupe
Default Re: Saturn Ion2 Cluster Swap with Redline cluster

Did you ever get this figured out?
NickL30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 01:01 PM   #9
2006 ion2
Master Member
2006 ion2 has a spectacular aura about2006 ion2 has a spectacular aura about2006 ion2 has a spectacular aura about
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Da U.P, EH!
Posts: 8,863
 

2007 ION-2 Sedan
Default Re: Saturn Ion2 Cluster Swap with Redline cluster

You need to have the instrument panel married to the car and reprogrammed with your mileage. The problem is, most dealerships won't touch a used instrument panel (liability, profit, or both).
...
2007 Saturn Ion 2
2003 Chevrolet venture lt

trifecta dealer for the U.P. and WI. There is no two door ion. Proudly driving one of the last saturns produced before gm killed the brand.
2006 ion2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 07:36 PM   #10
NickL30
Member
NickL30 has a spectacular aura aboutNickL30 has a spectacular aura about
 
NickL30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Iowa
Posts: 247

2004 ION-3 Quad Coupe
Default Re: Saturn Ion2 Cluster Swap with Redline cluster

Will Passlock work? I was wondering about just installing one bringing it in and seeing if they can figure out why it wont go past a certain mileage. I was wondering if the proper odometer reading can be viewed from the BCM or if it is just the visual they have to go from?
NickL30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 11:23 PM   #11
2006 ion2
Master Member
2006 ion2 has a spectacular aura about2006 ion2 has a spectacular aura about2006 ion2 has a spectacular aura about
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Da U.P, EH!
Posts: 8,863
 

2007 ION-2 Sedan
Default Re: Saturn Ion2 Cluster Swap with Redline cluster

I THINK they have to read/pull it from the old instrument panel. the instrument panel shouldn't effect passlock working.
...
2007 Saturn Ion 2
2003 Chevrolet venture lt

trifecta dealer for the U.P. and WI. There is no two door ion. Proudly driving one of the last saturns produced before gm killed the brand.
2006 ion2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 07:12 PM   #12
NickL30
Member
NickL30 has a spectacular aura aboutNickL30 has a spectacular aura about
 
NickL30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Iowa
Posts: 247

2004 ION-3 Quad Coupe
Default Re: Saturn Ion2 Cluster Swap with Redline cluster

The reason I need a new intrument panel is because I screwed up the old one. Where the odometer reads it no longer shows anything and what happened is I took the instrument panel a part to install LED lights and the strip that attaches to the display to the board must have pinched or stretched when I did this. Learned my lesson yes but is there a way to save it or is it done?
NickL30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 10:16 PM   #13
2006 ion2
Master Member
2006 ion2 has a spectacular aura about2006 ion2 has a spectacular aura about2006 ion2 has a spectacular aura about
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Da U.P, EH!
Posts: 8,863
 

2007 ION-2 Sedan
Default Re: Saturn Ion2 Cluster Swap with Redline cluster

Once it's damaged, it's probably done start calling dealerships to find out your options....
...
2007 Saturn Ion 2
2003 Chevrolet venture lt

trifecta dealer for the U.P. and WI. There is no two door ion. Proudly driving one of the last saturns produced before gm killed the brand.
2006 ion2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cluster swap??? fishmed S-Series Tech 8 03-12-2008 11:21 PM
instrument cluster swap 04Ion Ion Tech 1 04-02-2007 01:19 AM
instrement cluster swap femus Ion Tech 16 02-18-2007 08:32 PM
Cluster Swap??? chitown616 Vue Tech 5 03-30-2006 06:38 PM
Can i swap a whole cluster? SlimSaturn Ion General 9 07-01-2004 12:35 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:24 AM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.