Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech

Old 04-02-2009, 11:07 PM   #1
2002SaturnMan
2002SaturnMan is on a distinguished road

2002 SL1
Default Considering replacing spark plugs and spark plug wires - Need advice

Hello!

I have a 2002 SL1 SOHC (VIN=8). 109,000 miles

I've replace the plugs before with the NGK ones that are advised here (purchased from Advanced Auto Parts) - but it's been quite a few years and they are WAY over due I'm sure! I've never replaced the wires.

I'm at Advance Auto Parts website trying to figure out which wires to purchase (I really need to watch the prices). Can anyone suggest which to get? The closest Saturn dealer is too far away to try to get OEM wires.
ACDelco Spark Plug Wires - Standard (Part No. 764B) $38.99
Autolite Spark Plug Wires - Standard (Part No. 96034) $31.29
Xact Spark Plug Wires - Standard (Part No. 2909) $18.29

I've never done wires before and I'm wondering how hard this is to do correctly? I'm a novice. I found 14 threads in the S-Series Tech that have the subject "Spark Plugs" and I'm reading through most of them.

I found richpin's video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gq5hRTjll3E "Tune-Up Saturn S-series Spark Plug Wire Removal" and have a few questions -
1. Why is he wearing the black gloves? Is this so he doesn't get electrocuted?
2. Do I need to remove the battery terminal cables first so I don't get a shock?
3. What's the tool he's using to pull off the boot, and do I need one (where to find one)? http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/a...ireremover.jpg
4. He says the vehicle has a "retainer" but this appears to only be on 2 of the 4 wires. Do the other 2 wires have one of these as well?
5. He says if you see white corrosion on the tower you need to clean it off, but he doesn't say how.
6. Dialetic grease??? Is that what I would ask for at the auto store?