SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums - webmail

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn L-Series > L-Series Tech

Old 04-08-2007, 02:26 AM   #1
justin3
justin3 is on a distinguished road

Default 2002 l300

Hey all.

I was searching online to try and find some info/help with my girlfriends ls300 6cyl

just got inspected, and got everything done for inspection, but upon driving it a few days later, had a horrible lack of power/cylinder misfire?

my brother is a mechanic, im not a mechanic, but am fairly mechanically inclined.

the car was running terribly, wouldnt rev past 4k rpm, and had no power. it didnt trip the ses light full time, but it flashed twice.
he took the car to the shop he works at and hooked up the scanner....

he got
po300 random misfire
po306 cyl 6 misfire
po402 excessive egr flow

after i got the car back, and took it home, the ses light popped on and stayed on.

about 6 weeks ago my girlfriend was complaining of a similar problem and i had another mechanic friend throw it on the scanner, and it had a cylinder misfire then as well. i dont recall which cylinder it was exactly, but it was in the front....either 2, 4 or 6. i replaced the spark plugs and had no further problems until yesterday.

does anyone have any ideas what this could be?

my guesses
1. possibly the front coil pack going bad
2. egr. i dont know how the egr works exactly, but could improper function lead to buildup of gases, causing a lack of 02 and the cylinder not firing correctly?

past that i have no clue, and my brother is in the dark as well. if anyone could give some help or suggestions i would be eternally grateful.

oh...one more thing to add....the bcm is shot, which i just found out after researching the odometer problems.....i am 99% certain that this can have no effect on my current problems, but can someone verify this for me? i just want to be sure.

thanks

justin
justin3 is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links