SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Reference Forums > Mods and Performance

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2002, 12:38 PM   #1
Aironwater
Junior Member
Aironwater is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Iowa
Posts: 28
Default Performance chip for the L

A friend of mine that is into moding out his car pointed out that Jet makes a performance chip for the Saturn L, the web site doesnít say if it is for the 4 or 6 cylinder engine, but I though I would pass this info on to anyone who is curious. It looks like Jet chips can add 10-20 hp for most cars, but donít hold me to that. One problem with it though, it requires you to use higher octane gas, I think 91+.
Aironwater is offline  
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 05-03-2002, 01:27 PM   #2
eRic 02sc2
Super Member
eRic 02sc2 has a spectacular aura abouteRic 02sc2 has a spectacular aura about
 
eRic 02sc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Closed Course. Professional Driver.
Posts: 14,542
 
Default

read this article. they tested a Jet chip. SPS and SPC dynoed them in the past on S-series Saturns and found no improvement. the L-series is different so who knows?

http://www.caranddriver.com/xp/Caran...keywords=chips
...
eRic 02sc2
DR SCCA Solo 2001,2002 1st DSP
WHRRi 2007,2010 Fun Run 1st
DR SCCA 2008 Triathalon 1st PF
DR SCCA Solo 2009 2nd ST
DR SCCA Solo 2010 1st ST
Crutchfield: pkeqe-6j8e3-d2qqe
eRic 02sc2 is offline  
Old 05-03-2002, 02:20 PM   #3
Qlara
Master Member
Qlara is on a distinguished road
 
Qlara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Earth
Posts: 5,905
 
Default Re: Performance chip for the L

Quote:
Originally posted by Aironwater
It looks like Jet chips can add 10-20 hp for most cars, but don?t hold me to that. One problem with it though, it requires you to use higher octane gas, I think 91+.
Interesting info. But HOW could a chip mod alternates the fuel rating requirement without physical engine block compression rate changed first?

Guess they're messing with the Spark Timing to make it runs hot....geez! I won't touch this with a 10-feet pole.
Qlara is offline  
Old 05-03-2002, 03:39 PM   #4
Aironwater
Junior Member
Aironwater is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Iowa
Posts: 28
Default

I won't claim to understand how it works, but here is the company web site. It has some explanation to how it works.

http://www.jetchip.com/
Aironwater is offline  
Old 05-03-2002, 04:27 PM   #5
L300Boy
Master Member
L300Boy is on a distinguished road
 
L300Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 4,249
 
Default

there is a big technical difference between the 4 and the 6 ... but i cant find any mention of saturn period on this site.
L300Boy is offline  
Old 05-03-2002, 05:20 PM   #6
Aironwater
Junior Member
Aironwater is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Iowa
Posts: 28
Default

The site that actually sells the chip is

http://www.nopionline.com/
under the saturn heading
Aironwater is offline  
Old 05-03-2002, 05:23 PM   #7
L300Boy
Master Member
L300Boy is on a distinguished road
 
L300Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 4,249
 
Default



Is that an OBDII socket connector on the end?


http://www.nopionline.com/index.cfm?...gine%20Control
L300Boy is offline  
Old 05-03-2002, 05:45 PM   #8
L300Boy
Master Member
L300Boy is on a distinguished road
 
L300Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 4,249
 
Default

so....who's going to buy one and test it out for us?
L300Boy is offline  
Old 05-03-2002, 06:34 PM   #9
piratepress
Advanced Member
piratepress is on a distinguished road
 
piratepress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 546
 
Default

I noticed they also have one for the SC2. Aside from advancing the timing to use premium fuel is there any other advantage. Also, can you manually advance your timing (say with a timing light) if you already use 93 octane? On my Mustang GT, I advanced the timing to 14 degrees. Anyone know what the optimum setting would be on a SC2?
...
2006 Ion Redline- GMPP Stage 2
piratepress is offline  
Old 05-03-2002, 11:50 PM   #10
eRic 02sc2
Super Member
eRic 02sc2 has a spectacular aura abouteRic 02sc2 has a spectacular aura about
 
eRic 02sc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Closed Course. Professional Driver.
Posts: 14,542
 
Default

there's no manual way to adjust the timing on a saturn since there's no distributor to rotate. you'd need something to hack into the pcm to change the timing. or replace the pcm with a tec-2 or motec, etc...
...
eRic 02sc2
DR SCCA Solo 2001,2002 1st DSP
WHRRi 2007,2010 Fun Run 1st
DR SCCA 2008 Triathalon 1st PF
DR SCCA Solo 2009 2nd ST
DR SCCA Solo 2010 1st ST
Crutchfield: pkeqe-6j8e3-d2qqe
eRic 02sc2 is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
performance chip? SL1_sleeper670 S-Series Mods 25 12-29-2008 09:13 PM
Performance Chip saturnPr!de S-Series Mods 26 05-13-2006 06:05 PM
Performance chip svlplaya Community Center 1 04-26-2006 08:34 AM
Performance Chip KJB Vue General 14 12-22-2003 04:18 AM
Performance Chip? Fat Whacker Mods and Performance 4 09-15-2001 07:49 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:08 PM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.