SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums - webmail

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn Vue > Vue Tech

Old 09-12-2009, 12:29 PM   #1
oldvue
oldvue is on a distinguished road

Default 03 Vue V6 Project Car

I have an 03 Vue with 29K that I got from an auction a while back. I have been laid up with a back injury and have not spent the time getting it on the road. I am now working to complete the project.

My Issue:

The car was hit in the right front and the impact pushed back into the cam gear area slightly (The plastic cover broke) Although there is no impact marks on the cam gear (#4 in the very front) I am paranoid about just using it as-is. I purchased a new gear and went to put it on, but I am gun shy. (I am a former euro car mechanic).

I know that this is an interference motor. What is te best way to replace that cam gear. My concern is that I will have to let the #3 and #4 cams / valve "loose" to remove the gear. Can I safely do this or do I have to remove the intake - pull the valve cover - and secure the cams via the hex marks on the cams? (I was told that there is flats to put a wrench on)

Am I being too paranoid on the gear? There is no signs of it being bent and I had the car running and as the gear rotates, there seems to be an ever so slight wobble, but honestly, it is soo slight it might just be me being a perfectionist. There is no signs of abnormal wear on the belt either.

What do you recommend if it was your car?

Is there a simple way to pull the front cam gear without worring about the valves slamming down into the pistons while the belt is off? (I have a brand new AC Delco timing belt kit & water pump to install as well)

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
oldvue is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 09-12-2009, 01:49 PM   #2
far2grumpy
Master Member