SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums - webmail


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2021, 05:38 AM   #1
Dipped_in_sauce
New Member
Dipped_in_sauce is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: East bay area, California
Posts: 5

2001 SC2
Question Currently redoing my sound system and I have a question

So I put a stereo in and some speakers I had bought for a previous car but the speakers are way under powered and are probably gonna go out soon so I'm kinda remapping the whole thing. But my dilemma is a guy at a car audio shop said I have a factory amp in my car and would need a bypass harness for it to sound its best. But I can't find anything online about it at all! So plz answer this, does a 2001 Saturn SC2 have a factory amplifier? If so, where is it located in the car? And what bypass harness do I buy? I already ordered the new speakers that will work great with my aftermarket stereo. And I want to order this harness thing right away if I need too so I can do it all at the same time and hopefully for the last time lol. Or if I dont have a factory amp and that guy didn't know what he was talking about then im gonna just put these speakers in and call it a day!
Dipped_in_sauce is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 05-06-2021, 08:17 AM   #2
Tb51602
Junior Member
Tb51602 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 20

1995 SL2
Default Re: Currently redoing my sound system and I have a question

I own and currently drive the same exact car, 2001 SC2 Dohc 5spd...there is no factory amplifier. Who ever told you so either was misinformed or had no idea what he was talking about. I installed an aftermarket double din pioneer head unit, 2 Skar EVL 12's and 3k Gravity amp without issue....
Tb51602 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2021, 09:19 AM   #3
fetchitfido
Super Member
fetchitfido has a brilliant futurefetchitfido has a brilliant futurefetchitfido has a brilliant futurefetchitfido has a brilliant futurefetchitfido has a brilliant futurefetchitfido has a brilliant futurefetchitfido has a brilliant futurefetchitfido has a brilliant futurefetchitfido has a brilliant futurefetchitfido has a brilliant futurefetchitfido has a brilliant future
 
fetchitfido's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 14,955
 

2001 SC2
Default Re: Currently redoing my sound system and I have a question

There is no external factory amp in the S-Series. Just get the normal harness to connect the radio to the car's harness.
fetchitfido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2021, 03:50 AM   #4
Dipped_in_sauce
New Member
Dipped_in_sauce is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: East bay area, California
Posts: 5

2001 SC2
Default Re: Currently redoing my sound system and I have a question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tb51602 View Post
I own and currently drive the same exact car, 2001 SC2 Dohc 5spd...there is no factory amplifier. Who ever told you so either was misinformed or had no idea what he was talking about. I installed an aftermarket double din pioneer head unit, 2 Skar EVL 12's and 3k Gravity amp without issue....
Thank you! I knew I wasnt crazy lol. Na I think the guy at the shop just was lazy and didn't want to help me at the time. And your sound system sounds dope. I used to have a triple 12 box with 3 evil 12s wired to 1.33 ohms I think it was. It was for sure somewhere in the 1ohm range in my old car and those things are crazy. But for this car ima save a little weight too keep it sporty when needed so I wanna do four Rockford 6.5 speakers in the factory locations with three Rockford 8 inch subwoofers. And put them in the skar audio triple 8 sub box. I already have a cheap but surprisingly decent dual electronics xdm290bt stereo installed and I just ordered 2 of the 6.5 speakers for the rear deck and have to wait until payday to get the door speakers. And I bought the skar audio triple 8 box a long time ago to actually put on a 3 wheeled beach cruiser trike thing I had. But someone stole the bike. I need to get a new amp because the one I have with my current set up always gets hot and shuts off. Plus is no where near enough watts for what I wanna do. Anyways thank you guys for the info i was trying to find that non existent amp for a good minute. Sorry for rambling lol
Dipped_in_sauce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
car audio, factory amp or not, need to know, saturn sc2


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Redoing headliner - question(s)! droveavolvoonce S-Series Tech 17 07-09-2009 10:28 PM
Complex sound system question: PAL+AUX+Wireless headphones ? Michel1961 Aura General 8 10-26-2008 10:53 AM
Question - Sound System Upgrade cfisher2 Aura General 28 03-12-2008 08:57 AM
Sound system vibration question TheMarsVolta55 S-Series Mods 6 08-24-2007 02:45 PM
New sound system (adding a amp and sub to a factory system) QuadKewl Ion General 9 10-29-2004 04:03 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:02 PM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.