SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums - webmail


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2007, 10:33 PM   #1
amajn
Member
amajn is on a distinguished road
 
amajn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Endwell ny
Posts: 55

1999 SL1
Default Help instrument cluster!!!

OK long story short my bulb that lights up my mileage blew so i removed the cluster and took the bulb out i noticed i had a bulb for traction (i dont have a traction button on my model so i figured it was basically a spare and took it out placed it in my mileage spot. at the same time i removed the needles and was going to paint them but decided not to so i replaced them.I took pics of the spots they where in and set them accordingly i instantly noticed that the gas and temp would go all the way down id move them back they would go down way past empty/cold.

So i figured that once i put it back on the car it would work fine then i put it back on car.figuring everything was fine started the car up and now the gas and temp both work fine but they are reading way off my gas reading before i took them of was full now it was reading a quarter tank and my temp was way down and rose to just under cold. mileage light works fantastic but now how do i get the correct readings they work just not in the right spot!~!!!!!!

does it have to due with the electrical resistences like example when i removed the bulb labled traction did it need to be there for the cureent setup to work?
amajn is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 03-31-2007, 12:08 AM   #2
amajn
Member
amajn is on a distinguished road
 
amajn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Endwell ny
Posts: 55

1999 SL1
Default Re: Help instrument cluster!!!

Any insight anyone!???!???!??
amajn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 12:20 AM   #3
fdryer
Super Member
fdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond repute
 
fdryer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 45,394
 

2003 L-Series 3.0L Sedan
Default Re: Help instrument cluster!!!

I'll take a guess; when you removed the needles the pin that rotates the needles doesn't have a home position and freely rotates against a wound spring. Merely pushing the needle back onto the pin may have rotated the pin enough to make a 'new' zero position. If this is the case then removing the needle (as in pulling straight it off) and carefully pushing it straight back on should place the needle approximately back where its supposed to be. If you attempt this repair one too many times you may permanently damage the movement and have no recourse but to replace the instrument panel.
fdryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 12:25 AM   #4
amajn
Member
amajn is on a distinguished road
 
amajn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Endwell ny
Posts: 55

1999 SL1
Default Re: Help instrument cluster!!!

So removing then replacing the needles again might self adjust? im still confused but i see what your saying thx
amajn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 12:58 AM   #5
ssicarman
Super Member
ssicarman is a splendid one to beholdssicarman is a splendid one to beholdssicarman is a splendid one to beholdssicarman is a splendid one to beholdssicarman is a splendid one to beholdssicarman is a splendid one to beholdssicarman is a splendid one to behold
 
ssicarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Western Canada
Posts: 10,468
 
Default Re: Help instrument cluster!!!

Carefuly remove the needles. Install the cluster enough to plug it in. Start the car. Shut it off and reinstall the needles as close to their normal engine off position as you can remember. Repeat as needed or until you ruin the gauges. Then get a used cluster and install your speedo head into it.
...
A lousy day in paradise is still a day in paradise.
ssicarman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 02:15 AM   #6
quiksc2
Master Member
quiksc2 has a spectacular aura aboutquiksc2 has a spectacular aura aboutquiksc2 has a spectacular aura about
 
quiksc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Orting, WA
Posts: 4,636
 

2002 L-Series 3.0L Sedan
Default Re: Help instrument cluster!!!

I had the same problem. Remove the face, but leave the cluster plugged in. When your engine is stone cold, start it up. Pull the needle straight off. Now, push it straight on at the "C" position. This is how I calibrated it for temp. For fuel, I waited until my gas light came on, then did the same and put it on "E". I also noticed I had a bulb in there for the trunk open indicator. Is this supposed to light up when the trunk is open?
...
If I wanted ride quality, I would drive a Cadillac. If I wanted to be a sheep, I would drive something that says Vtec on the side of it...
DCS
quiksc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 03:38 AM   #7
amajn
Member
amajn is on a distinguished road
 
amajn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Endwell ny
Posts: 55

1999 SL1
Default Re: Help instrument cluster!!!

thx for the replys did what you guys said and it work perfect! i also have trunk indicator that has never lit up. wierd
amajn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 03:56 AM   #8
quiksc2
Master Member
quiksc2 has a spectacular aura aboutquiksc2 has a spectacular aura aboutquiksc2 has a spectacular aura about
 
quiksc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Orting, WA
Posts: 4,636
 

2002 L-Series 3.0L Sedan
Default Re: Help instrument cluster!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by amajn View Post
thx for the replys did what you guys said and it work perfect! i also have trunk indicator that has never lit up. wierd
There is a bulb there, unlike the indicator for park (only applicable on auto) where there is no bulb. I suppose I could swap the bulbs around and see if the bulb is good, or if the spot doesn't work.
...
If I wanted ride quality, I would drive a Cadillac. If I wanted to be a sheep, I would drive something that says Vtec on the side of it...
DCS
quiksc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
instrument cluster Huskerville S-Series Mods 6 07-31-2009 06:45 PM
instrument cluster blk37 S-Series Tech 1 12-19-2008 05:07 PM
Instrument Cluster predatrrider S-Series Tech 4 11-30-2008 06:57 PM
instrument cluster maxpeterson Ion General 34 06-04-2003 11:11 AM
Instrument Cluster Terrandus S-Series Tech 4 09-24-2002 09:19 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:48 AM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.