SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums - webmail


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn Astra > Astra Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2015, 07:05 PM   #21
nicolas_p
Senior Member
nicolas_p has a spectacular aura aboutnicolas_p has a spectacular aura about
 
nicolas_p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St Catharines, Ontario
Posts: 1,253
 

2009 Astra XR
2008 Astra XE
Default Re: Replacing TPMS

You are correct, the tpms system in our cars are old fashion in which you don't need to program them but we also can't tell which wheel is actually low or if it's a faulty sensor.
...
09 Vauxhall Astra XR3/STD
18" Team Dynamic MonzaR rims
Eibach Sportline, Whiteline BHR75Z swaybar and EBC Rotors
CD30 Mp3, Insignia jets, vxR surround, sharkfin antenna, Spoiler, Tint
nicolas_p is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 10-08-2021, 11:04 AM   #22
AstraFasta
Advanced Member
AstraFasta has a spectacular aura aboutAstraFasta has a spectacular aura about
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 769
 
Default Re: Replacing TPMS

Any recommended TPMS sensors?

Thoughts on the Schrader 28078?

Would the 28078 require a machine to "activate"? Would any programmable TPMS sensors require a machine to activate (even though the Astra is self-learning?)
AstraFasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2021, 12:06 PM   #23
JFS
Member
JFS has a spectacular aura aboutJFS has a spectacular aura aboutJFS has a spectacular aura about
 
JFS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 228

2008 Astra XR
Default Re: Replacing TPMS

When I replaced mine (I used a Dorman product), all that was necessary was to drive the car a bit for the system to join up. After two short trips in less than two hours, the light was out. I let out half the air in one tire to confirm the new ones worked. I cannot say anything about that particular product, but did see that Amazon and a couple other sites noted it compatible.
...
Z18XER powered Astra: 138 horsepower, but you'd swear it had 140!
JFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2021, 12:41 PM   #24
AstraFasta
Advanced Member
AstraFasta has a spectacular aura aboutAstraFasta has a spectacular aura about
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 769
 
Default Re: Replacing TPMS

Thanks JFS. Do you know the Doorman model you used by chance?
AstraFasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2021, 09:13 PM   #25
JFS
Member
JFS has a spectacular aura aboutJFS has a spectacular aura aboutJFS has a spectacular aura about
 
JFS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 228

2008 Astra XR
Default Re: Replacing TPMS

This is the item I purchased. Right now they are available from Amazon for just under $34, less than what I paid for them two years ago.

Dorman 974-030
...
Z18XER powered Astra: 138 horsepower, but you'd swear it had 140!
JFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2021, 10:38 PM   #26
PaulR
Member
PaulR will become famous soon enough
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 301
Default Re: Replacing TPMS

Quote:
Originally Posted by AstraFasta View Post
Any recommended TPMS sensors?

Thoughts on the Schrader 28078?

Would the 28078 require a machine to "activate"? Would any programmable TPMS sensors require a machine to activate (even though the Astra is self-learning?)
I bought four of the Schrader P/N 28078 back in January and had them installed with my new set of tires in August. All of them work great. They did not need to be programmed but the installer did it anyways at that time. All four cost me just under a hundred dollars from Rock Auto for the parts, shipping and tax.
...
PaulR

2008 XR3 5 speed, heated seats, leather, premium sound , 18" wheels, center armrest
2008 XE5 5 speed, heated seats, panoramic moonroof

Last edited by PaulR; 10-10-2021 at 10:42 PM. Reason: added information
PaulR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2021, 10:44 PM   #27
AstraFasta
Advanced Member
AstraFasta has a spectacular aura aboutAstraFasta has a spectacular aura about
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 769
 
Default Re: Replacing TPMS

Thanks JFS & PaulR !
AstraFasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPMS works and I like it! Tom S2 Astra General 7 10-27-2009 08:20 AM
Tpms bj6395 Aura General 14 11-24-2008 02:46 PM
Astra TPMS amartin003 Astra General 13 10-04-2008 10:28 AM
TPMS - 07 vs 08 dhead Aura General 2 09-30-2007 09:40 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:24 AM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.