saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums - webmail

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series General

Old 06-08-2021, 06:21 PM   #1
boomerB5
boomerB5 is on a distinguished road

1999 SL1
2005 RELAY-2
Default Front end still sometimes "thunks"

I bought a 1999 SL1 with 150k back in November. The price was right and I needed a reliable daily driver (not that I've been driving much for the last 15 months). I've never been much of a grease monkey. My first brake job was 6 or so years ago, in my mid-40s. But partly out of necessity, and partly out of boredom, I've dug in deeper under the hood on this car than I ever thought I would. And I can hardly imagine a better car to dig deeper on. Everything is so easy to access. And most of it is still mechanical in nature, so a person can actually work on it.

So far, I have replaced the upstream O2 sensor, the ECTS, plugs, plug wires, front brakes, all four shocks/struts, and the rear trailing arms. Plus I've cleaned the throttle body, EGR, and IAC. Obviously the videos from richpin have been invaluable. I've also learned a ton from RatchetsAndWrenches, Eric the Car Guy and SouthMainAuto on Youtube.

The work I've done so far has cleared all lights and codes. There is a roughness to the idle and I have a new intake manifold gasket waiting to be installed, which should take care of that. I'm just waiting for the heat to wane a bit. 90 in Minnesota is kinda unbearable. And speaking of heat, I pulled an AC compressor from a U-Pull yard. I think I just need the clutch/pulley to get some much needed chilling action. And the backlights on the radio are out...I've got new bulbs ready to be soldered in. After all that, I may look into touching up the body some.