SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums - webmail

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech

Old 07-21-2009, 10:17 PM   #1
SaturnHusband
SaturnHusband is on a distinguished road

Default 1997 SL1 Died 3 Times Today, Starts after 10 min.

I've been reading these forums for awhile and picked up on some quirks and common problems with these cars, but this is my first time posting. My wife has had her 97 SL1 since it was new. I met her a few years ago, and recently sold my car. So we are sharing this for the foreseeable future ( mostly due to lack of resources for obtaining any other options).

The car recently hit 150,000 miles. It's had it's share of annoying issues ( particularly the intermittent start problem), But I am really hoping we can get at least 2-3 more years with only minor repairs. We only drive 5-6k a year at this point. We just need something for Point A to B with reliability.

I don't know anything about cars, and if I did I probably would not do well at fixing them. I change air filters and have changed a battery. That's the extent of my car repair ability. But I am willing to learn, and my Father-in-law and/or his mechanic friend can help out some. I also have no money, so DIY can be helpful. So here's what's going on:

Today I was driving approx. 2 miles from home when the car died at a red light. Nothing happened. It just shut off. It would not restart. I eventually got out and pushed it into the intersection and off on the shoulder. I waited a few minutes and the car started again. I drove home immediately and the car ran fine. After I got home, I looked around the car, checked fluids,etc. I started it a few more times at home just t see if it would start right away and it did. Engine light did not come on at all.