SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn Ion > Ion General

Old 04-16-2022, 07:25 PM   #1
Billmincey1
Billmincey1 is on a distinguished road

Default 2006 ion blows headlights.

My niece's 2006 ion came to me with no headlights. So I get the volt meter out and check fuses. All fuses good. Checked power at headlight plug had 12 volts. I figure Blown headlights. But both? Anyway, I replaced both, turned them on and both worked high and low beam. Started the engine both went out. Checked voltage again at headlights and had 12 volts. Both bulbs were blown again. So Iím thinking a short when the engine starts. So I start the engine check voltage at headlights and it spiked to 20 volts and dropped steadily. So I checked battery Voltage at startup and it was 20V and stayed there. Now itís been 20+ years since I was a mechanic and things have changed a lot since and Iíve never worked on a Saturn, but my initial thought is voltage regulator/ alternator. Any help would be appreciated. Not sure charging systems have changed any but there are more components than there used to be lol thanks again
Billmincey1 is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 04-17-2022, 02:35 PM   #2
lrbraner
lrbraner is a jewel in the roughlrbraner is a jewel in the roughlrbraner is a jewel in the roughlrbraner is a jewel in the rough

2002 L-Series 3.0L Sedan
2003 L-Series 3.0L Wagon
Default Re: 2006 ion blows headlights.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billmincey1 View Post