SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn Vue > Vue General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2017, 06:01 PM   #1
atikovi
Advanced Member
atikovi is just really niceatikovi is just really niceatikovi is just really niceatikovi is just really niceatikovi is just really nice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Suburban Washington DC
Posts: 899
Default You don't need the dealer to program a remote.

Bought a used remote off Ebay and everywhere I looked it said it needs a scan tool to program. Found the following instructions online and it worked on my 2006.

1. Close doors.
2. Insert key, do not turn.
3. Press and hold door lock switch in the unlock position on the door).
4. Switch ignition on, off, on, off.
5. Release door lock switch.
6. Doors should lock and unlock one time to confirm programming mode. (This did not happen so just continue to step 7)
7. Simultaneously press and hold the LOCK and UNLOCK buttons of the first remote transmitter for 15 seconds.
8. Doors should lock and unlock to confirm programming of the first remote transmitter.
9. Repeat steps 7 and 8 for all remaining transmitters.
10. Switch ignition ON to exit programming mode. (Didnít do this, just pulled out the key)
atikovi is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 08-07-2017, 08:49 PM   #2
Claybury
Member
Claybury will become famous soon enough
 
Claybury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Mille Lacs
Posts: 263
Default Re: You don't need the dealer to program a remote.

Nice to know. Thanks for posting.
...
2002 SC2 1.9L
2007 Vue 3.5L
1985 Fiero SE 3.1L
1974 Triumph Spitfire 3.1L V6
2002 Ram duelly diesel 5.9L
1975 Honda PA50 0.05L (Swarm and destroy)
Claybury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 04:41 PM   #3
Bruce Rock
Member
Bruce Rock is just really niceBruce Rock is just really niceBruce Rock is just really niceBruce Rock is just really nice
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 334

2000 SL2
2006 VUE 2.2L
Default Re: You don't need the dealer to program a remote.

It didn't work for me on my 2006 Vue. The ebay sellers say dealer or locksmith programming required.

The confirm programming mode (step 6) did not happen but step 8 did for the original working remote. Original remote still works after trying this so you are out nothing.

The "new" remote was one I got at the pick-and-pull. It checked out OK at the remote display at Autozone.

Any others try this?
Bruce Rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 05:27 PM   #4
atikovi
Advanced Member
atikovi is just really niceatikovi is just really niceatikovi is just really niceatikovi is just really niceatikovi is just really nice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Suburban Washington DC
Posts: 899
Default Re: You don't need the dealer to program a remote.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Rock View Post
The confirm programming mode (step 6) did not happen
Same here, but still got both to work. Guess it might take a few tries.
atikovi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 10:26 PM   #5
Beak14
New Member
Beak14 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 3
Default Re: You don't need the dealer to program a remote.

My wife and I tried this, with our son's '05, and we couldn't get it to work. Good to see that it's working for some, though!

She bought remotes from eBay, and took them to the Chevy dealer, and they programed them for her. Plus, she had them look up the keys for the Vue, and had them cut new keys, as well.
Beak14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
to the dealer to program my new keyless remote! ssewall S-Series General 3 04-30-2012 05:16 PM
Program Remote vet430 S-Series Tech 2 02-02-2007 11:57 PM
program remote macmdb S-Series General 1 01-25-2004 02:04 AM
Anybody know how to program a 96 SL2 remote? sat96 General Saturn Discussion 3 07-12-2003 07:25 AM
How to program a new Remote?? coolgreany Vue General 1 01-18-2003 07:21 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:51 PM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.