SaturnFans.com Forums

SaturnFans.com Forums (http://www.saturnfans.com/forums/index.php)
-   S-Series Tech (http://www.saturnfans.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=39)
-   -   Idle (http://www.saturnfans.com/forums/showthread.php?t=81679)

Dan48382 07-19-2006 07:52 PM

Idle

I'm a new convert to Saturn. Out of need of a vehicle last winter I came across a 1995 SC2 (manual 5 speed) with 186,000 miles. The car was in great condition (the engine is understandably tired...uses oil).

I've spent countless hours going through these great Forums, benefiting from everyone's posts. THANKS!

I've been working on it a bit, the idle was all over the place, some cleaner took care of that. The temperature gauge never went much past cold so I replaced the thermostat and O2 sensor and the millage went from 27 to 32 mpg.

I'm not an expert on cars, but I've done my fair share of repairs. With all of these sensors.....things have changed.

This is my problem. When I put in the clutch and coast the idle drops way down to about 300 rpm if it doesn't stall completely. Once the car comes to a [B]complete[/B] stop the Idle returns to about 700 rpm (steady no wavering). Where do I start the hunt for the FIX.

wolfman 07-20-2006 01:48 AM

Re: Idle

This assumes the speedometer is actually working, and that the SES (Service Engine Soon) light is NOT on.

The IAC valve is sticking OR the TPS (Throttle Position Sensor) is bad.

To test the TPS. With the car warmed up and idling, rap on the side of the TPS with the plastic handle of a screw driver. If the idle speed alters AT ALL, REPLACE the TPS. If it does not, the IAC (Idle Air Control) valve sounds like it is sticking SHUT. Remove and clean the IAC valve and its pasage, replace the "O" ring. If this does not improve things, the IAC valave probably needs to be replaced, or there may be a problem with its electrical connector.

Dan48382 07-20-2006 07:07 AM