SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn Ion > Ion Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-07-2007, 06:46 PM   #1
kevinthenerd
kevinthenerd is on a distinguished road

2003 ION-1 Sedan
Default Coolant Temp Gauge

I've only seen my car go above the halfway mark once or twice, and anybody who knows me on here knows that I drive the #@&% out of my car. I'm obviously doing something right in my choice of coolant or oil or something.

With that being said, though, looking at the lines on the coolant temp gauge really tells me nothing. (I'm an engineering student, and while I can figure out that anything in the red zone is bad, numbers mean a lot more to me.) What temperature corresponds with each of the lines on the dash gauge? In an approximate sense, what oil temperature can I expect at each of these temperatures?

Thanks.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to kevinthenerd's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help kevinthenerd reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
kevinthenerd is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 05-07-2007, 08:00 PM   #2
fdryer
fdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant future

2003 L-Series 3.0L Sedan
Default Re: Coolant Temp Gauge

Look up SkyKing's posts on calibration of S-series temperature gauges, It may not apply but is relatively close otherwise try using a hand-held infrared pistol-grip temperature probe.You might find one from one of your departments.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to fdryer's Reputation