SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Reference Forums > Miscellaneous Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2006, 11:21 PM   #1
harsha
Advanced Member
harsha is on a distinguished road
 
harsha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 585
 

2006
Default OBD II question

Hello...

I was looking into some OBD II code readers and need some help getting the right one for my 06 Ion.
What kinda protocol does the saturn use?? I mean--> OBDII protocols: ISO-1941, KWP2000, VPW & PWM... Is it CAN protocol??

Thanks again!!

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to harsha's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help harsha reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
harsha is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 12-15-2006, 02:59 PM   #2
Gerry Proctor
Master Member
Gerry Proctor has a spectacular aura aboutGerry Proctor has a spectacular aura about
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 2,682

2008 Astra XR
2008 SKY Red Line
Default Re: OBD II question

It's CAN. Here's a reference chart: http://grouper.ieee.org/groups/1616/...cols101002.xls

Not 100 percent accurate, though, since it lists my VUE as KWP and I know it's CAN.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Gerry Proctor's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Gerry Proctor reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Gerry Proctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2006, 07:57 PM   #3
harsha
Advanced Member
harsha is on a distinguished road
 
harsha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 585
 

2006
Default Re: OBD II question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerry Proctor View Post
It's CAN. Here's a reference chart: http://grouper.ieee.org/groups/1616/...cols101002.xls

Not 100 percent accurate, though, since it lists my VUE as KWP and I know it's CAN.
Then a ISO 9141, KWP2000,.. scan tool won't work for CAN protocol??
Do I have to go top of the line??
If anybody has experience with some good stuff out there, I am all ears.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to harsha's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help harsha reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
harsha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2006, 10:45 PM   #4
harsha
Advanced Member
harsha is on a distinguished road
 
harsha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 585
 

2006
Default Re: OBD II question

Found this article too....

http://www.aa1car.com/library/can_systems.htm

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to harsha's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help harsha reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
harsha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 10:38 PM   #5
harsha
Advanced Member
harsha is on a distinguished road
 
harsha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 585
 

2006
Default Re: OBD II question

What do you guys think about this scan tool?? I'm looking into more features like live data and stuff which has CAN protocol compactability. Does anyone have experience with this product or a better one for similar price??

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/NEW-U...60110093QQrdZ1

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to harsha's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help harsha reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
harsha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2006, 12:23 AM   #6
Chili Pepper
Junior Member
Chili Pepper is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 36

2007 ION-3 Quad Coupe
Default Re: OBD II question

harsha if you happen to get the scan tool in your link or another one please post how it works for you. I am considering one as well for my '07 and not sure what to get, but they were alot more dough than the $110 for that one.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Chili Pepper's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Chili Pepper reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Chili Pepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 08:58 PM   #7
etp26
Member
etp26 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 215
Default Re: OBD II question

check out:

www.auterraweb.com

I have one of their scan tools with a laptop, works great. All protocols in one unit.

or www.auterraweb.com/dyforwiusb.html

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to etp26's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help etp26 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
etp26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 11:34 PM   #8
djreed
Member
djreed is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 133

2008 AURA XE
Default Re: OBD II question

Same as you I was looking for a good low cost scan tool several years ago and bought this one, I felt it was the best value at the time. When I looked at them again this year I recommended my friend get this one and he and I both think it is better than the one I have.
You can buy it for CAN or trimode. Good luck

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to djreed's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help djreed reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
djreed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 08:36 PM   #9
harsha
Advanced Member
harsha is on a distinguished road
 
harsha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 585
 

2006
Default Re: OBD II question

Quote:
Originally Posted by djreed View Post
Same as you I was looking for a good low cost scan tool several years ago and bought this one, I felt it was the best value at the time. When I looked at them again this year I recommended my friend get this one and he and I both think it is better than the one I have.
You can buy it for CAN or trimode. Good luck
The second one looks like a good one... I'm still checking and researching on CAN- scanners. Looks like a good scanner/software for $77. Does it work(realistically...length of the connector) on desktops?? or do I have to use a laptop??

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to harsha's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help harsha reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
harsha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about running OBD Diagnostic acr2001 S-Series General 4 07-10-2005 02:10 AM
OBD II Question revue Vue Tech 3 02-01-2005 09:54 AM
OBD II question 99GreenSC1 Miscellaneous Tech 3 11-17-2004 01:28 PM
OBD II Question revue Vue Tech 2 10-04-2004 04:37 PM
obd question miamisl2 Mods and Performance 6 07-03-2002 10:39 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 PM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.