SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series General
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-17-2006, 09:01 PM   #1
2002SaturnMan
2002SaturnMan is on a distinguished road

2002 SL1
Default Newbie Question - Size of Air condenser compared to radiator? Also airbag question.

Please forgive me for this Newbie question, but I'm no mechanic.

I'm purchasing a 1999 SL2 tomorrow, and the dealer (not a Saturn dealer) has replaced the radiator and air condenser after we took the car to a mechanic and he pointed out that the radiator was bent in the middle (as if it was hit by something). The fan in the plastic casing was loose as well.

Not sure how it could have got bent because the bumper (facia) looks fine. Unless it has been replaced. Carfax and Autocheck don't have any records of the vehicle being in an accident, and our mechanic says that the motor/belts, etc. look great. The car has 79,000 miles and runs great (as far as I can tell).

I checked out the car tonight after the dealer closed and I can tell that he must have replaced the radiator with a used one (since you can see little bugs, and a few little bends where stones probably hit it). Everything is nice and straight (the radiator) and the fan is nice and secure as well (he leaves all the cars unlocked so I could pop the hood).