SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Reference Forums > Miscellaneous Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-31-2006, 12:10 PM   #1
Onimacus
Onimacus is on a distinguished road

1998 SL2
Default Why does everyone hate FRAM oil filters here?

I am fairly new to Saturnfans, and I am already a fan. Seems that there are a few good knowledgable people here...

My main question is that I've pretty much always used FRAMs in all my cars... But I was researching and reading random things, and I've come into more than a few posts that say stay away from FRAM filters... Could anyone shine some light on the reasoning why?

Thanks!

Travis

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Onimacus's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Onimacus reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Onimacus is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 01-31-2006, 12:14 PM   #2
JS593
JS593 is on a distinguished road

1992 SL1
Default Re: Why does everyone hate FRAM oil filters here?

Fram filters are made of carbboard, no more, they deterriorate faster then any other filter out tehre, why do you think they are so cheap? My motomaster filter has a longere life expectancy then a FRAM.

92 SL1 SOHC TBI
Custom intake
Alpine deck, speakers, amp
JBL Sub
Ultimate amp
Volometer gauge mounted in dash
Magnaflow exhaust
....DEAD.... Car towed away Jan 18 2007. RIP

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to JS593's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help JS593 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
JS593 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 12:16 PM   #3
seawolf06
seawolf06 is on a distinguished road

Go to bobistheoilguy.com for a detailed explination.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to seawolf06's Reputation