SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2004, 04:57 PM   #1
LenZelinski
Junior Member
LenZelinski is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 20
 
Default P0708 Transmission Range Sensor Circuit High Input

is this the neutral safety switch?
it's for a 1996 SL1,the service light comes on almost everytime i start it.sometimes likes just now it didn't come on.
is it easy to replace?
i saw about adjusting it but i will just replace it because it is cheap and then i don't have to see the service light come on again.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to LenZelinski's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help LenZelinski reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
LenZelinski is offline  
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 01-06-2004, 06:43 PM   #2
TedL
Senior Member
TedL is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Glenmont, NY (near Albany)
Posts: 1,640
 
Default

The FSM lists this as "No Data" from the neutral safety switch, and notes that a disconnected switch will set this code.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to TedL's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help TedL reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
TedL is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 07:35 PM   #3
LenZelinski
Junior Member
LenZelinski is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 20
 
Default

thanks,the manual i have doesn't go into obdII at all.
all the connectors are fine,the switch is probably worn.
got a new one coming from saturnparts.com,light hasn't come on today since i started it early today(figures).

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to LenZelinski's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help LenZelinski reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
LenZelinski is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 08:53 PM   #4
Saturn-Eh!
Senior Member
Saturn-Eh! is on a distinguished road
 
Saturn-Eh!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 1,715
 
Default

the switch is adjustable, you might want to check that before you go ahead and replace it...

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Saturn-Eh!'s Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Saturn-Eh! reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Saturn-Eh! is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 09:08 PM   #5
LenZelinski
Junior Member
LenZelinski is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 20
 
Default

yeah but i figured it looks easy to change and then i won't have to find a code scanner the next time the light comes on to make sure it's just the neutral safety switch.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to LenZelinski's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help LenZelinski reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
LenZelinski is offline  
Old 01-07-2004, 12:12 PM   #6
wolfman
Super Member
wolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of light
 
wolfman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 12,068
 
Default

I will only add that if you are getting the code at startup, it is probably the PARK portion of the switch with the problem, although it is essentially adjusted as a unit.

...
Old Saturns never die, people KILL them, so check your damn oil!
"Unthinking respect for authority is the greatest enemy of truth." Albert Einstein

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to wolfman's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help wolfman reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
wolfman is offline  
Old 01-07-2004, 12:23 PM   #7
LenZelinski
Junior Member
LenZelinski is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 20
 
Default

of course it hasn't come on once since i posted.
gonna change it anyhow,ordered it already.
just want to know if it just unbolts easily.
i don't want to unbolt it and have some small part drop out and disappear.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to LenZelinski's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help LenZelinski reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
LenZelinski is offline  
Closed Thread



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saturn Trouble code PO706 Transmission range sensor...? ivymotorsports S-Series Tech 31 06-02-2012 11:14 PM
transmission range sensor? bdobraj S-Series General 5 03-09-2012 04:03 PM
2002 SL1 Transmission issues, "reverse slam", P0708 code, transmission range sensor mt_spiffy S-Series Tech 20 12-14-2009 02:17 PM
transmission range sensor adjustment jeepinwi Ion Tech 1 01-27-2009 03:33 PM
CODE P0714: Transmission Fluid Temperature Sensor Circuit Intermittent mncoeltj S-Series Tech 3 02-19-2006 10:14 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 PM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.