SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums - webmail

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn Vue > Vue Tech

Old 03-21-2020, 06:09 PM   #1
LSP
LSP is on a distinguished road

Default 2003 Vue 2.2L AWD Automatic

New owner here, so forgive me as I'm new to this car and site.

When cold, trans slips and engine revs up to 4000 rpm to go 30 mph, does that for 8-10 minutes, then trans starts to engage better and it will go 60 mph at 2600 rpm on the highway.

I pull into a quick car wash, shut it off for 5 minutes, then start it up and it does the exact same thing even though trans is at operating temp..

I've rebuilt my own transmissions before, but never one of these, any ideas what I should dig into first?

Thanks
LSP is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 03-21-2020, 06:26 PM   #2
fdryer
fdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond reputefdryer has a reputation beyond repute

2003 L-Series 3.0L Sedan
Default Re: 2003 Vue 2.2L AWD Automatic

Is your automatic a CVT (continuously variable transmission)? GM labeled these CVTs as VTi. If yours is a cvt, bad news. Unrepairable. Search past threads or use the Similar Threads tabs on the bottom of this page to find threads about Saturns with poorly made cvt xmissions.

There's one 8 or 9 part youtube video from a xmission shop showing the ugly details of this xmission, repair hints and mods but never followed up on whether success was achieved or not.
VCX NANO
fdryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2020, 07:29 PM   #3
LSP
LSP is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by fdryer View Post