SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn Vue > Vue General
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-20-2018, 02:06 PM   #1
bigbadblo1
bigbadblo1 is on a distinguished road

Default Is my Vue (2004 manual) toast? Ack!

Hey folks, long-time lurker here.

My Saturn Vue (2004, manual) with just shy of 160k was making a strange noise at speed -- brought it in for an assessment -- and the results were sad (and expensive).

GM dealership stated the following:
* Transaxle assembly needs replacing (?!)
* Left front hub bearing needs replacing (...)
* Right intermediate shaft needs replacing (ugh.)

I'm not a mechanic, nor do I really know what the hell is going on under the hood. I *DO* know that I love my Saturn, and I'd like this little fella to last longer than what is likely realistic.

What should I do? Gather a second opinion? Costs put the repairs at around $4k, which forces my hand to say goodbye really... but could there be another option?

I'm open to any thoughts / suggestions / feedback. Again, not a car guy... just love my Saturn. Thanks,

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to bigbadblo1's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help bigbadblo1 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
bigbadblo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 08-20-2018, 04:11 PM   #2
john95SW2
Advanced Member
john95SW2 will become famous soon enough

2004 VUE 2.2L
Default Re: Is my Vue (2004 manual) toast? Ack!

Do you have a local (non-dealership) mechanic? I'd let them look at it and give you a price before you made any decisions. Seems strange that all 3 of those just happen to be bad at the same time.