SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2018, 11:25 AM   #1
dblynch90
New Member
dblynch90 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 2
Question Electric Gauge Cluster

My stock gauge cluster is all smashed up from previous owner. I am running the car in a short track Enduro race, so I really don't need the full gauge cluster. I was wondering if I can just find the signal wires in the stock harness, I could just splice them into an electric cluster that has temp, oil pressure, and voltage.


1998 Saturn SC2 Automatic.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to dblynch90's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help dblynch90 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
dblynch90 is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 06-20-2018, 12:29 PM   #2
alordofchaos
Super Member
alordofchaos has much to be proud ofalordofchaos has much to be proud ofalordofchaos has much to be proud ofalordofchaos has much to be proud ofalordofchaos has much to be proud ofalordofchaos has much to be proud ofalordofchaos has much to be proud ofalordofchaos has much to be proud ofalordofchaos has much to be proud of
 
alordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Central MI
Posts: 11,820
 

2002 SC2
1998 SL2
Default Re: Electric Gauge Cluster

The PCM will send a signal, gauge has to register it properly.

Someone just posted a relevant diagram a few days ago

http://www.saturnfans.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=234828

Another option that does not require wiring, try an OBDII Bluetooth reader and an old phone or tablet. I think apps like . . . drawing a blank on the name . . . allow you to customize the live readouts. Oh, Torque is the name of the app.

...
I'm not worthy to grovel in the shadow of Signmaster's wisdom

11/2016 red 2002 5 spd SC2 124k DD
7/2010 Craigslist white 1997 SC2 project
12/2008 eBay silver 1998 SL2 5 spd 102k, now 201k+ miles

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to alordofchaos's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help alordofchaos reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
alordofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 01:24 PM   #3
RobertGary1
Master Member
RobertGary1 is a glorious beacon of lightRobertGary1 is a glorious beacon of lightRobertGary1 is a glorious beacon of lightRobertGary1 is a glorious beacon of lightRobertGary1 is a glorious beacon of light
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 3,978
 

1996 SC2
2006 VUE 3.5L
Default Re: Electric Gauge Cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by dblynch90 View Post
My stock gauge cluster is all smashed up from previous owner. I am running the car in a short track Enduro race, so I really don't need the full gauge cluster. I was wondering if I can just find the signal wires in the stock harness, I could just splice them into an electric cluster that has temp, oil pressure, and voltage.


1998 Saturn SC2 Automatic.
No, its not analog. Its a digital bus connection. You'd need the circuitry to read the data off the bus. Or just grab a new cluster at pnp for $20.

-Robert

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to RobertGary1's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help RobertGary1 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
RobertGary1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 01:35 PM   #4
OldNuc
Super Member
OldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond reputeOldNuc has a reputation beyond repute
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Far Southwestern Iowa
Posts: 64,847
 

1998 SC2
Default Re: Electric Gauge Cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by dblynch90 View Post
My stock gauge cluster is all smashed up from previous owner. I am running the car in a short track Enduro race, so I really don't need the full gauge cluster. I was wondering if I can just find the signal wires in the stock harness, I could just splice them into an electric cluster that has temp, oil pressure, and voltage.


1998 Saturn SC2 Automatic.
The 97-98-99 cluster will swap and it is an analog cluster. There is no oil pressure signal just an idiot light.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to OldNuc's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help OldNuc reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
OldNuc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanting to add electric oil pressure gauge. PSDFan S-Series Mods 1 02-09-2015 10:26 PM
Gauge cluster SgtSaunders69 Aura General 2 05-22-2014 05:06 PM
Gauge cluster notion Ion General 9 10-25-2009 01:46 AM
do i need a new gauge cluster? blackymanny General Saturn Discussion 11 11-04-2005 04:25 PM
removed odometer from gauge cluster, now gas gauge & oil pressure gauge don't work DJboozeAlot S-Series Tech 18 04-06-2005 02:59 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 PM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.