SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-06-2017, 11:11 PM   #1
GSDrew
GSDrew is on a distinguished road

2002 SL1
1997 SW2
Default New Felpro Intake Gasket Leaks.

I picked up this 2002 SL1 in July and it had plenty of problems due to very poor maintenance... but not being a Saturn novice I grabbed it because the price was right and the mileage was low. 85K miles for $1500 with near perfect interior and body.
After doing the water pump, hoses, radiator, belts, plugs, wires, gas cap, trans filter, trans fluid, vacuum lines connected properly and the intake gasket (yes it had a very bad leak on #1 and #2, the idle was 21000) I got all 4 check engine lights fixed, it passed the emissions test and ran like a champ for 2.5K miles till now... So why is my new Felpro gasket leaking water between #3 & #4? Other than the water leak it still runs great.

Another question... Does the odometer mileage follow the computer? In other words if someone puts in a low mileage computer in a high mileage car... Does the high mileage now become a low mileage car? I'm asking this because I'm finding sign that this car may not be as low mileage as advertised. Also, does the VIN follow the computer?
Thanks guys and Merry Christmas!

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to GSDrew's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help GSDrew reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
GSDrew is online now   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 12-06-2017, 11:23 PM   #2
OldNuc