SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series General
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-19-2017, 06:35 PM   #1
wildrevolt13
wildrevolt13 is on a distinguished road

Default Newbie here. SW2 a/c failure.. what are my options?

Hi all, Iím a newbie and just looking for some advice. Iíve been driving a 2000 SW2 for three years and in May of 2016 the a/c died on me. I have no experience with cars so I tried some simple attempts at getting it going again but no such luck. It blows air but itís not cold or even cool. I paid a neighbor $35 to put in a can of freon hoping it was just low, but that didnít do anything. He said he thought it was probably the compressor. I tried fiddling with the fuses after watching a how to video on YouTube but again, no such luck. Finally I brought it to Pep Boys for a free a/c check but all they did was tell me that thereís definitely freon in there but they donít know how much.

I live in Florida and Iíve been driving without air conditioning for over 500 days and I think I may lose my mind if I have to keep driving like this any longer. Pep Boys said if it is the compressor that they canít just replace that, they have to replace all the lines too. They said that would cost somewhere around $1200-$1400 for parts and labor. If I had that amount I would just buy another cheap car that currently has functional a/c. It has 190k miles, but only just over 3k are from me. Going from always having a new car to this one has been an adjustment but I became disabled by an injury and could no longer afford that. If I could just get the air conditioning up and running again I would be in heaven. Are there any other small things I can try? Any tips or advice would be appreciated.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to wildrevolt13's Reputation