SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn L-Series > L-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-25-2017, 01:44 PM   #1
Brettmurphy96
Brettmurphy96 is on a distinguished road

Dizzy Ocasionally won't start

Hey this is my first time posting on this forum so here I begin I'm an apprentice auto tech and own a 2000 saturn l-series with a 2.2 auto

Every now and then after driving for a while I shut off the car and park for and bit then go to restart it with the key still in the ignition and it'll turn over and catch for a split second then sputter out.

I've tested fuel pressure and it's good.
I've tested the ICM and it's reading good
I've tested all the fuses and relays
There is no engine codes

The only way I can get it to start when it does this is to pour a little bit of gas into the throttle body and it'll start up ...... any help would be appreciated

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Brettmurphy96's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Brettmurphy96 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Brettmurphy96 is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 10-25-2017, 03:03 PM   #2
rb6667
Advanced Member
rb6667 is a splendid one to beholdrb6667 is a splendid one to beholdrb6667 is a splendid one to beholdrb6667 is a splendid one to beholdrb6667 is a splendid one to beholdrb6667 is a splendid one to beholdrb6667 is a splendid one to behold

2004 L-Series 2.2L Wagon
2004 L-Series 3.0L Wagon
Default Re: Ocasionally won't start

Welcome to the forum Brett. Glad to have you with us!

Could be a number of items but since when you prime it with raw gas, it will start and run points to a fuel starvation situation.

Possible causes:
Almost clogged fuel filter (When was it last changed?)
Fouled throttle body (Has it been cleaned?)