what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back Forums > Models > Saturn Vue > Vue Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2017, 01:31 PM   #1
New Member
brownpaw is on a distinguished road
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Wrench 04 Vue w/ factory amp question

Hey folks

So CarPlay/Android Auto receivers are finally cheap enough that I may put one in to my old '04 Vue w/ factory amp and subwoofer. I've replaced many car stereos in my day but never one where there is a factory amp involved.

When putting in the new radio, should I actually be splicing the RCA pre-outs into the vehicle-side harness instead of the usual amplified channels on the radio-side harness? i.e. does the stock radio output a pre-amp signal across all channels to the factory amp?

Don't have OnStar or any other fancy factory things besides the amp & sub, and I'd like to keep the sub working if possible.

I've tried searching for a similar question but the search functions on these forums aren't the best.

Thank you!


Add to brownpaw's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help brownpaw reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
brownpaw is offline   Reply With Quote Sponsored Links
Old 12-11-2017, 05:31 PM   #2
Junior Member
Finkle is on a distinguished road
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Oshkosh Wi
Posts: 39

2005 VUE 2.2L
Default Re: 04 Vue w/ factory amp question

I haven't done a radio in a vue with the factory sub, but I have two of the amp and subwoofer setups from vues in my garage, so I'll take a stab at figuring this out

They should not be getting amplified outputs, that's way too high power. All the inputs go into one amp under the back passenger seat for the 4 full range speakers and the subwoofer. That means you should have to use any more than 4 channels to get everything to work. I believe the subwoofer amp just samples from the other channels. I would recommend using RCA jacks to power the speaker outputs. I have used adapters that drop the amplified channels down to RCA level, those would work too. I almost like them better, I don't get the popping sounds I get on some decks when using RCA outputs.

What yo might run into, is the output is too quiet. Some companies like to run the line level outputs on their decks higher than RCA ouput volumes, but much lower then speaker level outputs. I ran into that with a Maxima I owned with the BOSE system. I bought a RCA in-line amplifier off ebay for a few bucks that lets you turn up the line level outputs to make better use of the factory amp.

Hope this helps


Add to Finkle's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Finkle reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Finkle is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radio swap question. Factory Single DIN to Factory Double DIN loki1701 Vue General 2 05-16-2016 09:44 AM
Factory MP3 Question DesignoSLK Vue Tech 11 05-07-2012 09:31 AM
93 factory CD question blue92 S-Series Tech 3 07-20-2008 11:49 AM
Factory fog light question??? nikoli S-Series Tech 1 07-10-2008 04:44 PM
05 Factory Alarm question wjducham Ion Tech 3 08-28-2006 05:29 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.