SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn L-Series > L-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-28-2015, 08:05 PM   #1
DubDoom
DubDoom is on a distinguished road

2003 L-Series 2.2L Sedan
Wrench Saturn L200 2.2L - No power to fuel pump relay

Hello Saturnalians! I've been tasked by my father to see what I can do to get his sedan up and running again. I should say that I'm new to Saturns and that this is my first post/thread on this forum.

In short, the car just wouldn't start when he went to go home from work one day. It was obvious that the fuel pump wasn't priming, so we tried switching relays with the wiper relay. Nothing.

So maybe it was a bad fuel pump we thought. But further testing revealed that the fuel pump relay was not receiving power.

I had read that on some Saturns, the relay/fuse block pins could overheat and fail, so I removed the connector from the interior fuse block and cleaned the terminals. No change, and nothing that looked burned/charred.

At this point, I think it may be the CPS, PCM, or ignition cylinder. However, I haven't been able to find good information on troubleshooting this system. The Chilton manual for the L series is... well, very vague. Can anyone point me in a good direction here? What to check for next? I would hate to start throwing parts at it, and would prefer to troubleshoot properly.

Thanks!

(EDIT): I really should have mentioned that it does turn over, and all other systems seem to work fine (Although I haven't attempted the daunting task of checking for spark on this beast- sounds somewhat difficult). There is also no security light or CEL light on once the cluster does it's light check upon turning the key to run.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to DubDoom's Reputation