SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series General
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-13-2014, 01:15 PM   #1
jojoskylar630
jojoskylar630 is on a distinguished road

Default 2004 Saturn Ion 2 - recall

I'm new to this so please bear with me and my apology for being so long winded, I just need some help. I have a 2004 Saturn Ion 2 which I bought brand new. A few months ago I began having problems where the car just dead stopped while I was driving but after a couple of minutes started back up. I went to my closest Chevy dealer and they claimed it was not part of the recall and instead had me fix some other things at a cost of $280. After a couple of weeks I began having issues where the key was getting stuck and my wipers would just start on their own. Again Chevy said it was not a recall issue and I would have to wait until my parts got there. About 2 weeks ago I parked at Walmart and after about 15 minutes came out to a car that would not start. Tried everything from getting a boost to checking each and every fuse and nothing. Called GM, they provided a tow to the dealer after 4 1/2 hours. Next day Chevy said no resolution so they gave me a loaner. After 3 days Chevy says they replaced the recalled parts with someone else's since mine hadn't arrived but then tell me after a diagnostic, I needed a new starter at a cost of $580 because the car wouldn't start. That's outrageous!!! I paid to have my car towed to my mechanic. My mechanic said I still had life to my starter but would follow the diagnostic recommendation from Chevy and also replaced my battery since it was 10 years old already. Car started and ran a few minutes then it was parked and waiting for me. I get there and car starts but immediately turns off. After an hour it finally stays on. I drive less than a mile when merging on to the road the car stops