SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series General
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-27-2013, 05:06 PM   #1
konjiki7
konjiki7 is on a distinguished road

1999 SL2
2001 SL
Default Saturn SL2 Spark-Plug blasphemy

I'm new to the world of Saturn but not to building and working on cars.

I ready a lot of different post about spark plugs and had actually did you spark plug test of my own. Most notable a new plug on the market Nitrode spark plugs.

I was interested in testing them mainly because in theory they should work well. I also thought so with the E3 plugs too.... I was sadly mistaken.

Auto-light/ Champion coppers
These are the standard plugs a ran in my last Saturn.

In the current 99 Saturn SL2 DOHC I pretty much tried everyplug in the local stores and took them back... In all honesty when i read about certain plugs not working well S series i was a little skeptical. Credit to the posters who provided that info because it was very accurate...

99% of plugs outside of basic copper plugs simple do not work well. The two percent that did I included below.

So I made list below of what my experience was with various plugs using the following ranking system.

Start-up performance
Idle
Efficiency/mpg
Throttle response
Price

Ratings are poor/average/ great

Auto-light/ Champion coppers(these perform exactly the same in my sl2)

Start-up performance -average
Idle - poor/average (slightly below average idle consistency)
Efficiency/mpg -average (36mpg)
Throttle response - poor
Price - Great

NGK NGK BKR5ESA-11(I choose heat range 5 slightly better performance noticeable when i have passengers and driving up hills)

Idle - average (smoother then Auto-light/ Champion coppers)
Efficiency/mpg -average(36mpg)
Throttle response - great
Price - Great

Denso copper (very similar to NGk)

Start-up performance -Great