SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-04-2013, 06:18 AM   #1
dallastowboy22
dallastowboy22 is on a distinguished road

1997 SL1
Dazed Heater Core or Water Pump?

ok i have a 97 SL1 ...been a great car... very reliable for 7 years now... but recently i have had a coolant issue with it. 2 months ago i noticed that the coolant light would start blinking and i could find no leak... now im no mechanic but i have been patching my cars and trucks back together since i was 15 years old in 1985.
but could not find a leak.. put water in it every couple days.. the a/c stopped cooling.. the compressor still turned on but no cold air all of a sudden. then a hair line crack appeared in the top of the radiator tank. when i would hit the throttle it would shoot a fine little mist spray out of the crack. so i tried JB WELD on the plastic tank. amazingly enough that appeared to seal that crack. but now a real leak is started basicly pouring out water about as fast as i put it in. its leaking from the passenger side in the area of water pump, reservoir tank.. but now in january and i noticed that the heater does not work. it blows just fine. but never gets even slightly warm. does a leaking/ bad water pump make the heater not work?? or could it be a bad heater core or hose? there is no water inside the car... but im just wondering if anyone has had a similar problem... i just have to take the wheel off and find the leak.. im pretty sure it needs a new WP but could a bad thermostat or bad or clogged heater core have caused this? ...

dallastowboy

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to dallastowboy22's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help dallastowboy22 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!