SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-01-2012, 09:10 AM   #1
Jaybrogs
Jaybrogs is on a distinguished road

2002 SL
Dizzy Mysterious Oil Leak Pinpointed to Timing Cover

Hey guys, I'm new to Saturnalia, but have owned a Saturn since I could drive. I have a 2002 SL. Anyway, after visits to the dealer and a mechanic, I think I have pinpointed my slow oil leak to the Timing Cover. How much should I expect to pay for this? I know its a little too serious of a job for my taste.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Jaybrogs's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Jaybrogs reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Jaybrogs is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 03-01-2012, 10:11 AM   #2
alordofchaos
Master Member
alordofchaos is a jewel in the roughalordofchaos is a jewel in the roughalordofchaos is a jewel in the roughalordofchaos is a jewel in the rough

1998 SL2
1997 SC2
Default Re: Mysterious Oil Leak Pinpointed to Timing Cover

Welcome to saturnfans

If your timing cover has not previously been removed, a leak a the cover is very highly unlikely (it would be the very first that I have read of).

Is that the diagnosis of the dealer/mechanic?

I'd wipe it clean and try to pinpoint the oil leak myself, starting at higher points on the eninge and working down. The cam (valve) cover gasket is more likely. Approximately how hgh up (or low down) can yo pinpoint the leak to?

Timing cover takes some time to remove, clean up and replace - I'd guess in the $400~$600 range. A lot of novice home mechanics have successfully removed/replaced the timing cover, though... it's really just a lot of bolts in tight, hard to reah places

...Wait, what, I actually won that eBay auction?