SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2003, 12:31 PM   #1
LoveMySaturn
Member
LoveMySaturn is on a distinguished road
 
LoveMySaturn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albany, Ohio
Posts: 92
Thumbs Down Power Door Locks not working..

I bought the car knowing this, and I would like to try to figure out whats wrong with it. My dad and I were looking at it and found out this:
putting in a fuse in correct spot makes it blow immediately
unlock works from the passenger and driver's doors, but only unlocks the driver's door.
lock doesn't work at all
when lock/unlock is pressed, there is a noise in the fuse box inside the car, coming from the relay switches

Anybody have any idea what the problem could be? any help is appeciated.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to LoveMySaturn's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help LoveMySaturn reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
LoveMySaturn is offline  
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 01-21-2003, 05:25 PM   #2
DualCamCoupe
Advanced Member
DualCamCoupe is on a distinguished road
 
DualCamCoupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 940
 
Default

Sounds to me like its haunted.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to DualCamCoupe's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help DualCamCoupe reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
DualCamCoupe is offline  
Old 01-21-2003, 09:06 PM   #3
sattech
Senior Member
sattech is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Saturn of Norwood, Ma
Posts: 1,467
Default

Which fuse blows, the locks fuse or the body fuse? Both are used in the door lock ckt. The body fuse also powers the dome lamp, trunk light and power mirror.

...
~ If it worked before you messed with it, it must be something you did ~

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to sattech's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help sattech reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
sattech is offline  
Old 01-21-2003, 09:09 PM   #4
ssicarman
Super Member
ssicarman is a name known to allssicarman is a name known to allssicarman is a name known to allssicarman is a name known to allssicarman is a name known to allssicarman is a name known to all
 
ssicarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Western Canada
Posts: 10,221
 
Default

If the fuse is popping right away then you have a short somewhere. You'll need to find this before you can be certain of any other diag you try to make. Good chance that the short is the cause of everything.

...
A lousy day in paradise is still a day in paradise.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to ssicarman's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help ssicarman reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
ssicarman is offline  
Old 01-22-2003, 03:47 PM   #5
krasch
Member
krasch is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Boiling Springs, PA
Posts: 105
Default

Oh! Oh! I know this one. Teacher, call on me please! I had the exact same problem with my 92 sl2. It turns out that the relay for the power door locks in located directly under the center council under the emergency brake lever. That spot makes a pretty decent cup holder. Someone spilled coke down there and it worked its way into the relay and shorted it out. I bought a new one and it works fine.
Here is a tip: It is really easy to hook up a remote control kit for the power door locks while you are in there. You can get one for about $40 from JC Whitney. I love mine.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to krasch's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help krasch reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
krasch is offline  
Old 01-22-2003, 08:18 PM   #6
sattech
Senior Member
sattech is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Saturn of Norwood, Ma
Posts: 1,467
Default

Sorry Krash, this is a '96. The relays are in the fuse panel. And it already has remote keyless entry.

...
~ If it worked before you messed with it, it must be something you did ~

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to sattech's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help sattech reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
sattech is offline  
Old 01-23-2003, 11:34 AM   #7
LoveMySaturn
Member
LoveMySaturn is on a distinguished road
 
LoveMySaturn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albany, Ohio
Posts: 92
Default

no, mine doesn't have keyless entry. i don't think it is the body fuse, it is the lock one or whatever it was. all i know is it is a 20, and the fuse wasn't in there when i bought it, so whoever had it before knew this was the problem. My dad found some relays at the junkyard and soon we'll try them and i'll try and post teh results. thanks though.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to LoveMySaturn's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help LoveMySaturn reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
LoveMySaturn is offline  
Old 01-23-2003, 12:12 PM   #8
dru95sc2
Junior Member
dru95sc2 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: mesa az
Posts: 39
Default

mine does the same thing 95 sc2 I miss my locks

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to dru95sc2's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help dru95sc2 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
dru95sc2 is offline  
Old 01-23-2003, 12:55 PM   #9
bills33
Junior Member
bills33 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 26
Dizzy power door lock problem

at least yours blow fuse. Mine just makes it so I had to remove to unlock relay to keep it from killing the battery. and then jumper the switch to unlock to let me start the car.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to bills33's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help bills33 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
bills33 is offline  
Old 01-23-2003, 10:05 PM   #10
sattech
Senior Member
sattech is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Saturn of Norwood, Ma
Posts: 1,467
Default

I'm going to check to make sure, but , as far as I recall, if you have factory power locks you have remote keyless entry. All you need is a remote programmed to your car.

...
~ If it worked before you messed with it, it must be something you did ~

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to sattech's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help sattech reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
sattech is offline  
Old 01-24-2003, 09:54 AM   #11
wolfman
Super Member
wolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of light
 
wolfman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 12,068
 
Default

Sattech is CORRECT (as usual) if you have power door locks (OEM Factory ones anyway) then you DO have RKE (remote keyless entry) that's the ONLY way they came from the factory.

...
Old Saturns never die, people KILL them, so check your damn oil!
"Unthinking respect for authority is the greatest enemy of truth." Albert Einstein

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to wolfman's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help wolfman reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
wolfman is offline  
Old 01-24-2003, 11:09 AM   #12
LoveMySaturn
Member
LoveMySaturn is on a distinguished road
 
LoveMySaturn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albany, Ohio
Posts: 92
Default

any way i could get a remote for my car? i've never heard of anything like this though, getting a replacement, but i'm sure its possible, maybe through the dealer..but still, if the locks don't work, then that wouldn't work either would it?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to LoveMySaturn's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help LoveMySaturn reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
LoveMySaturn is offline  
Old 01-24-2003, 09:33 PM   #13
sattech
Senior Member
sattech is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Saturn of Norwood, Ma
Posts: 1,467
Default

Do you stil have a fuse blowing? If you post which fuse it is , I may be able to at least tell you what else is on the circuit.

...
~ If it worked before you messed with it, it must be something you did ~

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to sattech's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help sattech reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
sattech is offline  
Old 01-28-2003, 11:46 AM   #14
bills33
Junior Member
bills33 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 26
Default which fuse would help

my car the fuse was on the rke which when replaced after i checked more closely and noticed that one. the car started normal. i removed the relays for the door locks and waiting till it is warmer to find out if i use the door locks and alarm together will it blow a fuse again. for now I am happy the rest of the car works normal. i can do without the power door locks for now.

so yes it would be good to know what fuse is blown on this thread.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to bills33's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help bills33 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
bills33 is offline  
Closed Thread



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power locks and Dome light not working... TheOneJordan S-Series Tech 15 01-16-2009 05:37 PM
power locks not working correctly! SWargy S-Series General 8 06-28-2007 11:35 PM
'95 SL2, power door locks + cig lighter stopped working dreman S-Series Tech 49 03-23-2007 10:40 PM
Power locks quit working mjo S-Series General 6 04-21-2005 09:21 AM
95SL2 Power locks and 12V power stopped working skijay S-Series General 5 04-13-2004 08:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 AM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.