SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-24-2009, 05:12 PM   #1
hardy101
hardy101 is on a distinguished road

Idea 2000 Sl - One (Right) High Beam Won't Light, Short?

Hi Everyone,

I have a 2000 SL with one (right) high beam that won't light. I think there is a short somewhere, but I'm not very experienced with wiring issues, and would appreciate a little guidance. Here's what I've tested.

Replaced the bulb, only to find that the old one still had a good filament. New bulb won't light either.

Checked fuses in under-hood box. Left and Right lamps have a single fuse for high/low. i.e. 1 fuse governs high and low beams for the left, another fuse governs high/low for the right. Both fuses are good.

No voltage (well, 100 mV) at the right high beam electrical connector (this is the lamp that won't light). But again, the left lamp works.

Pulled the right (dead) headlamp fuse to check voltage at those pins - no voltage! (100 mV) UNTIL I pulled the left lamp fuse. Then there is voltage at the right AND left lamp pins.

Then something odd happens. When the right lamp fuse is installed, the LEFT lamp fuse pins have 8 volts, and the left high beam lights with NO FUSE in the box. The left lamp also lights when the right fuse is pulled.

So, there has to be a short somewhere. I'm just trying to figure out the logic that would lead me to a particular trouble spot. Can anyone help?

Thanks

Matt

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to hardy101's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help hardy101 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
hardy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 04-24-2009, 06:22 PM   #2
madpogue