SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-14-2009, 12:51 AM   #1
andyrew
andyrew is on a distinguished road

Default Common issues, buyers guide

After searching through a lot of these threads and looking for sticky's I cant seem to find any good information in regards to a buyers guide or common issues and problems.

My Girlfriend will be buying her first car (actually i'll buy it) and I'd like to know what I should look for.

Were looking at SL2 automatic's and will be looking at cars in the 125k and under (prefer as low as we can find within our 2k budget) mile range.

I have many years of automotive experience as does my father so we can diagnose the basics, but I'd like to know the common issues on what to look for. Maybe a buyers guide?

Such as
CV joints, wheel bearings, I cant figure out if its an interference engine (timing belt) but I assume so (how often do they need to be replaced?), ect. I saw all the maintenence videos and watched about half of them. Seems like an incredibly easy car to work on (Coming from Porsche's and Audi's.. which is what I drive).

Also any specific questions I should ask the seller?

Anyways I appreciate all your help and if there are any threads like this one just point me to them.

Thanks!
Andrew

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to andyrew's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help andyrew reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
andyrew is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 04-14-2009, 02:01 AM   #2
hholbein
hholbein will become famous soon enoughhholbein will become famous soon enough

1997 SW2
Default Re: Common issues, buyers guide