SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-05-2008, 03:57 AM   #1
roo243
roo243 is on a distinguished road

Question 97 Saturn SC1- Irregular Starting Issues

Ok, so this is my first time posting anything on these forums so please bear with me. A few months ago I purchased a 97 Saturn SC1 from my brother. After driving it for about a month, I started having problems.

I went to the gas station one day and filled up. After I was finished pumping, I went to start my car and it wouldn't turn over. It fact it wouldn't even crank. At first I assumed that it was an issue with either the battery or the alternator because when I turned the key I could hear the click of the solenoid, but the car refused to proceed with ignition. After that a kind elderly man (who forgot to pay for his gas oddly enough) jumped my car. With my suspicions confirmed, I went to work. When I was done with work, my car wouldn't start at first but I managed to get it running. I immediately took the car to AutoZone and had my alternator tested. The guy there told me that the alternator wasn't putting out anywhere near the prescribed voltage. So, after $150 and a bit of hard work, I had replaced the alternator. That night I took my wife out and we had some fun. When the night was over I went to start my car. Big shock, it wouldn't start.

A mechanic friend of mine suggested buying a new battery. So, I did. The car started and ran. Then a few days later when I went to start it again, I had the same problem. Solenoid click, no crank. So I then proceeded to replace the starter. The starter seemed to fix the problem but then it gave me the same old symptoms and a couple new ones.