SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Categories > General Saturn Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-20-2008, 07:02 PM   #1
foo
foo is on a distinguished road

1997 SL1
Default 122,000 miles on transmission with no transmission fluid change in car's history.

122,000 miles on transmission with no transmission fluid change in car's history.
I was thinking about doing the tranny fluid change and filter change on the car. I just received it from a relative that said they've never done a tranny fluid change in any car they own.
I asked a mechanic what he thought I should do about it and he said, sometimes changing the fluid after so many miles can be a bad thing. He says he would just drive it 'til the tranny went bad and rebuild it. But of course, I am not a mechanic that can do that kind of work on my own.

What should I do? Should I change the fluid out or no?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to foo's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help foo reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
foo is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 04-20-2008, 08:46 PM   #2
2NDSOUT
Master Member
2NDSOUT is just really nice2NDSOUT is just really nice2NDSOUT is just really nice2NDSOUT is just really nice

1994 SL2
1999 SL
Default Re: 122,000 miles on transmission with no transmission fluid change in car's history.

That's a tough one there...I've heard some people say that if you begin changing it, you will need to continue to change it on a consistent basis to keep the gears in check and good working order.

I can say from experience that at 332,xxx original miles on my original engine and automatic transmission (neither of which have been rebuilt) that if you miss an ATF change, it WILL come back to haunt you...