SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn Vue > Vue General
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2008, 11:01 PM   #1
bradnelson
New Member
bradnelson is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Default Can I replace BCM myself?

Im in a bit of a pickle. my 2002 saturn vue has a bad bcm. I bought a new one and about the same time my company closed down. So being out of work im wondering if I could replace the BCM so my car will start, then i could find employment and get the vue fixed up better.

I've been resetting the bcm so the car would start by disconnecting the battery, that worked for about 1 month, but not it wont start anymore.

any thoughts or concerns about me trying to replace it myself?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to bradnelson's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help bradnelson reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
bradnelson is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 02-24-2008, 11:43 PM   #2
fdryer
Super Member
fdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant future
 
fdryer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 29,796
 

2003 L-Series 3.0L Sedan
Default Re: Can I replace BCM myself?

Only if the new BCM was already programmed otherwise you bought just the BCM sans specific programming such as mileage and VIN missing, among other essential information needed for complete programming. Saturn is the only place to program what I believe is a blank BCM as they're the only ones with the Techtool II equipment to program BCMs. By chance is the lack of starting from the Passlock security light being on all the time?

If I'm mistaken and you took the precaution to pre-program the replacement BCM, then by all means replace the faulty BCM! Remove the battery negative cable and leave it this way until the BCM is fully mounted and connected properly. The only caution in replacing the faulty one with the new one is carefully avoiding static electricity (the killer of electronic components) by leaving the BCM in the static protective bag on the floor in the Vue before removing it to mount and connect to the wiring harness'. You can dissipate any static charge on your body by simply grasping any metallic part of the Vue's dashboard frame, minimizing squirming around in the seat and generating static, minimize fussing around and simply mounting the BCM and connecting the harness'. There's very little chance of electrostatically blowing a component within the BCM but a little caution reduces the risk.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to fdryer's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help fdryer reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
fdryer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 01:00 AM   #3
bradnelson
New Member
bradnelson is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Can I replace BCM myself?

Thanks for the reply.
No, i dont have a passlock light on. My speedometer reads 698,xxx or whatever that code it that says its a bad bcm. I talked to saturn and they agreed it sounded like a bad bcm.

I bought this newer bcm from a company that took it out of a used saturn. they said said they tested it and it worked. so since it was already installed is that a good thing?

ok so if i attempt this, where is the old bcm located? i have yet to reseach how to replace it so i dont even know where its located.. any idea how long it will take to do it myself?

Thanks for all your help!

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to bradnelson's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help bradnelson reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
bradnelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 01:16 AM   #4
fdryer
Super Member
fdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant future
 
fdryer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 29,796
 

2003 L-Series 3.0L Sedan
Default Re: Can I replace BCM myself?

Uh, there may be a different odometer reading as well as the VIN from the donor vehicle. I'm not entirely familiar with the Vues as I am with the L300's. the L300's have their BCMs above the glove compartment and I think yours is above the radio. Check the threads using the search function here for the Vues. It takes as long as it takes you to find the BCM location from searching here, members advice, and disconnecting whatever is necessary to access the BCM wherever its located and plugging in the replacement BCM. If you confirm whether its above the radio or elsewhere, then its just a matter of battery disconnection and removing the necessary dash panels to access the BCM. Maybe an hour or so, less if you know your way around the dashboard and all the hidden hardware, more if you don't with skinned knuckles to show for the effort. Sorry if I can't be more specific.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to fdryer's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help fdryer reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
fdryer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 01:58 AM   #5
JDub99SL2
Advanced Member
JDub99SL2 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 823
 

1999 SL2
Default Re: Can I replace BCM myself?

You can install the BCM yourself but you cannot program it correctly. The BCM needs to be programmed for your vehicles installed options (1 or 2 relay cooling fan system, mileage, fog lights, PDL, etc.). You will also need a scan tool to program the remote key fobs.

Most importantly, the mileage needs to be programmed. Once the mileage is programmed into the BCM, it cannot be changed.

The used BCM you bought will always count up from the mileage it has in memory and the options may or may not match that of your vehicle.

Pay for a new BCM and have it installed and programmed correctly. If the incorrect mileage is the only sign of BCM failure, you can wait until you have the money. Just make note of the actual mileage so when you have it reprogramed it is not that far off of the actual mileage.

Just FYI, your alarm may go off in the middle of the night, random horn honking, lights flashing, no start w/ security light, etc., etc.

Bad BCMs are funny. Anyway, you cannot do it correctly without the correct computer, software or a Tech 2. I would not install a used BCM, if I were you.

Justin

I just remembered that getting access to the Vue's BCM is rather easy (remove window switch bezel, radio trim bezel and radio) but actually detaching the BCM from the car can be a PITA unless you know how. It's still a little bit of a PITA even when you know how). Also, you have no idea if the used BCM is bad. Neither do the people that yanked it.

Last edited by JDub99SL2; 02-25-2008 at 02:03 AM..

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to JDub99SL2's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help JDub99SL2 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
JDub99SL2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 02:45 AM   #6
mellissam
Senior Member
mellissam will become famous soon enough
 
mellissam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Garden Bay, B.C.
Posts: 1,671
 

2006 VUE 2.2L
Default Re: Can I replace BCM myself?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradnelson View Post
Thanks for the reply.
......I bought this newer bcm from a company that took it out of a used saturn. they said said they tested it and it worked.....
Haha, that's funny. Unless it was a Saturn Dealer, I seriously doubt it.....

...
'Silven'

K&N / Sheep seats / Run Brds / Roof Rack / Fog Lps / Trailer Hitch / Air Horns / LEDs / Power Inv. / Cool Blues

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to mellissam's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help mellissam reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
mellissam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 12:00 PM   #7
anakin876
Junior Member
anakin876 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 45
 
Default Re: Can I replace BCM myself?

I've had the BCM die in my 2006 Vue twice - fortunately replaced under warranty both times. So I've been posting and reading threads regarding BCMs for a year or so here. There's another thread around here where someone got the dealer to reprogram a BCM for 150 bucks at the dealer - I know you said that you are looking for work at the moment, but maybe that would be in your budget range? This way you can put the replacement in and get it programmed correctly - thus avoiding any bad things that might happen from an incorrectly programmed BCM.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to anakin876's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help anakin876 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
anakin876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 04:16 PM   #8
Jess Lookin
Member
Jess Lookin is on a distinguished road
 
Jess Lookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
Posts: 122

2001 SC2
2002 VUE 3.0L
Default Re: Can I replace BCM myself?

Ok, is the bcm a dealer only part ? Looks like the wife's Vue needs one.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Jess Lookin's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Jess Lookin reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Jess Lookin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 04:55 PM   #9
fdryer
Super Member
fdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant futurefdryer has a brilliant future
 
fdryer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 29,796
 

2003 L-Series 3.0L Sedan
Default Re: Can I replace BCM myself?

Well, you can try shopping around but beware of used ones from new blanks. All used bcm's retain the car mileage and cannot be erased. Only new blanks programmed only from a GM service center can do the replacement perfectly as GM is the only authorized dealer with the proprietary software to use a Tech II to program bcm's. No one else.

Buying used bcm's is a gamble as mileage from this bcm will never be the same as yours. The used one may have more or less mileage than the one it replaces. Very few bought used bcm's with less mileage than the one it replaced.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to fdryer's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help fdryer reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
fdryer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 05:08 PM   #10
Jess Lookin
Member
Jess Lookin is on a distinguished road
 
Jess Lookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
Posts: 122

2001 SC2
2002 VUE 3.0L
Default Re: Can I replace BCM myself?

Thank you ! I'll just order one from the dealer then.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Jess Lookin's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Jess Lookin reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Jess Lookin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BCM Got Me Too jcorb L-Series Tech 4 05-09-2009 07:27 PM
FIXED! When in doubt Replace Both of them (PCM & BCM) x-angel S-Series Tech 8 03-31-2008 09:00 PM
EGR Valve: To Replace or Not to Replace? SL1Joe S-Series Tech 36 03-31-2008 08:56 PM
Is it the BCM or something else? birdieluvr76 Vue Tech 2 04-16-2007 02:08 PM
2000 LW2: proactively replace BCM, or wait? linuxdude L-Series Tech 4 12-22-2006 05:42 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.