SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn Vue > Vue General
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-05-2008, 08:00 AM   #1
OceanVue
OceanVue is on a distinguished road

2006 VUE 3.5L
Default V6 Vue smoking when cold

Hey everyone, I just moved to northern Virginia from Florida, and now that I am here this issue seems more prominent. I know all cars have some smoke/steam come out when they are first started and it is cold out, but doesn't it stop after the car is warmed up? My Vue smoked when it was cold in Florida as well, but it is more now that it is colder here. I see some cars on the road that don't smoke at all and some that smoke like my Vue does. I have no experience with cold weather and this is starting to worry me. Oil and water levels are fine. Is this just a Vue thing or is something wrong with my car?

2006 Saturn Vue 3.5 V6
"Oversteer is when the passenger is scared; understeer is when the driver is scared!!"

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to OceanVue's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help OceanVue reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
OceanVue is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 01-05-2008, 08:47 AM   #2
mr weather
mr weather is on a distinguished road

Default Re: V6 Vue smoking when cold

Technically it's not smoke but steam. It's due to the exhaust system being cold at start up and depending on the outside temperature, it may never go away.

Also, if the relative humidity of the ambient air is high you'll get consistent steam from the tailpipe.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to mr weather's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help mr weather reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
mr weather is offline   Reply With Quote