SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2007, 10:55 PM   #1
maestro
Junior Member
maestro is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north carolina
Posts: 48
 

1997 SC1
Default expiermented to day on 97 sc1 horn replaced with honda horn,whadda ya think!

sc1 has three wires,,96 honda accord has only two wires honda has blue and black,,,sc1 has 2# blacks and one orange. when i bought,,,this thing since has sounded like a old chevrolet or cutless even a old plymonth,,,so i hit the junk yard up today,,,got the honda horn for like 5 bucks,,,took home put on matching the correct 2 wires of the three wire of the sc1 with the two wires for the honda horn and whaa-lah! the thing worked,,,no this is not a big accomplishment for maybe someof you more advanced saturn owners,,,guess im braggin cus i nfinally made this thing sound as good as it looks,,,the honda horn sound gives it more of a sports car horn sound ,,,kno what i mean,,,anyway it works and thats what i was aiming for ,,,any feed back! let me know!!! see ya! maestro

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to maestro's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help maestro reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
maestro is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 07-26-2007, 11:52 PM   #2
madpogue
Super Member
madpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud of
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Madison, WI USA
Posts: 25,713
 

1996 SW2
Default Re: expiermented to day on 97 sc1 horn replaced with honda horn,whadda ya think!

You studied the wiring diagram before doing this, right? Well, then, you must know that the OEM horn has a built-in relay, and that the way you have the aftermarket horn wired, you're using the switch circuit to run the horn itself. How good do you feel about pumping that amount of current into the switches in the steering wheel, through a circuit designed to carry a small fraction of that current, and bundled with the wiring for the air bag?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to madpogue's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help madpogue reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
madpogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
horn trouble-no power to horn/not fuse 2xsl2 S-Series Tech 6 03-06-2010 10:32 PM
Help! Horn needs to be replaced, inspection coming up d_rock S-Series Tech 26 11-07-2007 06:42 AM
VUE horn location - adding 2nd horn? Robert H. Vue Tech 3 09-11-2006 03:20 PM
Horn Dead, Its Not The Fuse , Cant Find Horn justinkr58 S-Series General 2 07-01-2005 05:39 AM
Replaced horn with aftermarket skywolf L-Series General 10 03-27-2005 09:23 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.