SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Reference Forums > Mods and Performance
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2003, 04:22 PM   #1
Jammer
Advanced Member
Jammer is on a distinguished road
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 573
 

2002 SC2
2003 ION-3 Sedan
Default 110 Volt power supply

I want to install a 110 volt power supply into my SC2 and was wondering if many other people have done it. I know all about 110 line and have done a lot of electrical work so I know the systems but haven run one in the car.

I have a 350 watt converter I was thinking of installing into the trunk running a 10 guage power supply to and the a 14-2 line back to the front and installing a standard outlet on the right side of the center console. The supply would have to come from a ignition sensative supply (what could I attach it to in the fuse panel?) so that it would only be active when the car is running and then also a inline switch for emergency cutoff or something of the sort.

I would be using it to plug in my laptop, dig. camera, cell, and other things of the sort that it is nice to have since I spend half of my life in the car.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Jammer's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Jammer reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Jammer is offline  
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 12-19-2003, 07:16 PM   #2
Dr. Bob
Master Member
Dr. Bob is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: SE Minnesota
Posts: 2,041
Default

I'm not an electrical engineer, but a 350 watt inverter would need a 12v circuit that would pull 29.2 amps. Whatever wiring you use to feed the inverter would have to handle that amount of amps.

You may want to select wiring with double the maximum ampacity since going to the trunk is a longer distance and to allow a safety margin. I don't have my books handy, but I'm thinking 8 ga stranded copper wire. Use red insulated for the positive feed.

If you want to have it switchable via the key switch, you'll have to do some homework with wiring diagrams and would probably require a relay switching the power feed to the inverter.

I'd recommend fusing the 12v. inverter power feed near where you tap into the power, e.g. fusing it before it passes the firewall for safety issues.

Ideally, finding a body ground of enough capacity in the trunk would be a good thing - better to ground there than wiring a ground wire all the way back to the battery.

An alternative approach is to put the inverter under the hood then run the output 120v to wherever you need it and have a receptacle or two to plug into. 14 ga wire would be adequate, you'd have to run three wires - hot, neutral and ground (assuming your inverter has a 3-prong output) - you can buy line cord cable that would work well for this purpose.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Dr. Bob's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Dr. Bob reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Dr. Bob is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 08:59 PM   #3
Jammer
Advanced Member
Jammer is on a distinguished road
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 573
 

2002 SC2
2003 ION-3 Sedan
Default

8 guage sounds good and the inverter would have to be mounted in the interiorer of the car as it is not weatherproof. For the wire that would power the outlet I would use housewire (same as that in a wall of your house). Good idea of the inline fuse under the hood, I forgot about something like that.

Dose anyone know about the wiring of the main fuse block and what could handle the load?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Jammer's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Jammer reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Jammer is offline  
Old 12-20-2003, 01:22 AM   #4
tightsaturn96
Advanced Member
tightsaturn96 is on a distinguished road
 
tightsaturn96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Southern Louisiana
Posts: 723
 
Default

10 guage will easily handle 30 amps--8 is a waste of money.
I doubt that the inverter really puts out 350 (so that means I also doubt it reeealllly pulls 29.2 amps--followin me here). Look at the fuse on the inverter and see what it says. That's what you need.

Finally, the only way you can add a 10 or 8 guage to the key switch is to use an add-a-fuse tap in the fuse box AND USE IT TO TURN ON A RELAY. DO NOT go right to the fuse box. You can tap the radio(acc.) or fuel pump(run) fuses to turn on the relay--or pick some in the underhood box. You want to put a fuse on your 10 or 8 at the battery always.

Last edited by tightsaturn96; 12-20-2003 at 01:27 AM..

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to tightsaturn96's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help tightsaturn96 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
tightsaturn96 is offline  
Old 12-20-2003, 02:02 AM   #5
Euphony010
Advanced Member
Euphony010 is on a distinguished road
 
Euphony010's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 876
 
Default

A good suggestion would seem to be to buy a 8 ga. Amp Kit. It would have the fuse you need and everything long with plenty of wire.

My 4 ga. Monster Cable kit was only $60.

Thomas

...
So Long L Series... Hello Mazda 3.

I still miss the polymer.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Euphony010's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Euphony010 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Euphony010 is offline  
Old 12-20-2003, 09:40 PM   #6
Jammer
Advanced Member
Jammer is on a distinguished road
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 573
 

2002 SC2
2003 ION-3 Sedan
Default

What kind of relay would I be getting? Something from Radio Shack?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Jammer's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Jammer reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Jammer is offline  
Old 12-20-2003, 10:01 PM   #7
wolfman
Super Member
wolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of lightwolfman is a glorious beacon of light
 
wolfman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 12,066
 
Default

I's use a starter solenoid type relay for a load that high. Just about every FORD uses a stand alone solenoid (heavy duty relay) that can be had from any autoparts store for about $10.

...
Old Saturns never die, people KILL them, so check your damn oil!
"Unthinking respect for authority is the greatest enemy of truth." Albert Einstein

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to wolfman's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help wolfman reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
wolfman is offline  
Old 12-21-2003, 11:20 PM   #8
tightsaturn96
Advanced Member
tightsaturn96 is on a distinguished road
 
tightsaturn96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Southern Louisiana
Posts: 723
 
Default

They sell them at AutoZone and such. Just a black box (maybe with a tab on top for a holding screw) with tabs on the bottom. Quick-disconnect tabs can be crimped onto the wires and they'll plug right on there. Easy easy easy!

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to tightsaturn96's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help tightsaturn96 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
tightsaturn96 is offline  
Old 12-23-2003, 01:22 PM   #9
Jammer
Advanced Member
Jammer is on a distinguished road
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 573
 

2002 SC2
2003 ION-3 Sedan
Default

Cool, I'll check them out.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Jammer's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Jammer reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Jammer is offline  
 



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ACC 12-volt power source Ls1Junky S-Series Tech 7 07-10-2007 01:36 PM
looking for good power supply Ken A Vue General 0 02-17-2007 09:27 PM
Constant 12 volt to radio is reading under 1 volt? Plz help HockeyZ39 S-Series Tech 15 10-11-2006 05:02 PM
12 volt power source rhafley L-Series General 4 12-26-2003 03:50 PM
headlight power supply in a 2000 sl1 psybapunk S-Series Tech 4 04-25-2003 11:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:33 AM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.