SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn Vue > Vue Red Line
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2012, 12:02 AM   #1
smithbrady64
Member
smithbrady64 is on a distinguished road
 
smithbrady64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 104
Default Top speed?

I recently bought my 04 RL and i decided to top it out tonight. i got up to 104 mph. then it wouldn't go any further. any thoughts?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to smithbrady64's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help smithbrady64 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
smithbrady64 is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 03-13-2012, 01:41 AM   #2
pyroom
Advanced Member
pyroom is on a distinguished road
 
pyroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Winnipeg MB
Posts: 521

2004 VUE 3.5L
Default Re: Top speed?

Sound right, 2005 and up were 120 but a bunch of them got nurfed with the tranny recall. 100 was what the tires were rated for. If you really want to go faster there are ways around it, the easiest of which is just to find a big hill and drive down it (big enough that the car will still accelerate while limited), after a few seconds the limiter will just disable until you slow down again.

...
2004 Vue 3.5L AWD

Last edited by pyroom; 03-13-2012 at 01:46 AM..

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to pyroom's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help pyroom reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
pyroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 12:38 PM   #3
RedGeminiPA
Senior Member
RedGeminiPA will become famous soon enough
 
RedGeminiPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 1,442
 

2004 VUE 3.5L
Default Re: Top speed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pyroom View Post
Sound right, 2005 and up were 120 but a bunch of them got nurfed with the tranny recall. 100 was what the tires were rated for. If you really want to go faster there are ways around it, the easiest of which is just to find a big hill and drive down it (big enough that the car will still accelerate while limited), after a few seconds the limiter will just disable until you slow down again.
Put me in the neutered camp for my '05...

I haven't really had the chance to try this out, but I wonder if it would work...

Back in the day, I had a new '06 HHR 2LT 2.4 auto. In a pissing match with a BMW X3 on the interstate, I discovered if I floored it, release, floor it again, release, and floor it again (maybe 4 times... can't remember), the governor seemed to be bypassed. I'm thinking I was going downhill a little, so that might explain it.

Anywho, it's times like those that it would be nice to regain my top end in my RL...

...
Avid Apple, car and vacuum enthusiast. Don't hate! ;)

Current:
'04 FWD 3.5L

Previous:
'05 AWD Red Line
'02 L200

http://www.facebook.com/SaturnFansNorthEast

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to RedGeminiPA's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help RedGeminiPA reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
RedGeminiPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 12:51 PM   #4
spdjnke
Junior Member
spdjnke is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 35
Default Re: Top speed?

just curious, but what's the point of trying to max out your RL? or am I missing something? want to go fast get a X5??

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to spdjnke's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help spdjnke reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
spdjnke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 01:08 PM   #5
Midnight13
Senior Member
Midnight13 is on a distinguished road
 
Midnight13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 1,272

1998 SL
2005 VUE 3.5L
Default Re: Top speed?

103ish is all mine can do too. Never had a need to go any faster than that...in this.

That's what my 70 Camaro is for

...
"Not for human consumption!" - Peas in the Pod

http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Peas-in-a-Pod/160649663950771

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Midnight13's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Midnight13 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Midnight13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 01:15 PM   #6
RedGeminiPA
Senior Member
RedGeminiPA will become famous soon enough
 
RedGeminiPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 1,442
 

2004 VUE 3.5L
Default Re: Top speed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spdjnke View Post
just curious, but what's the point of trying to max out your RL? or am I missing something? want to go fast get a X5??
Why spend boat-loads of unnecessary money on an X5, when you can have a much lighter, and MUCH more efficient Red Line? And the maintenance for the Vue is MUCH cheaper...

I love BMWs and owned 2 of them, but the upkeep was a nightmare!

...
Avid Apple, car and vacuum enthusiast. Don't hate! ;)

Current:
'04 FWD 3.5L

Previous:
'05 AWD Red Line
'02 L200

http://www.facebook.com/SaturnFansNorthEast

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to RedGeminiPA's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help RedGeminiPA reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
RedGeminiPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 03:18 PM   #7
Hoagrod
Advanced Member
Hoagrod is on a distinguished road
 
Hoagrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 549

2006 VUE Red Line
Default Re: Top speed?

Got to 110 and had to slow down due to my exit, but could've kept going. I think it's the fujita!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

...
2006 Vue RedLine.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Hoagrod's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Hoagrod reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Hoagrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 03:39 PM   #8
BobbyP
Master Member
BobbyP is just really niceBobbyP is just really niceBobbyP is just really niceBobbyP is just really nice
 
BobbyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 7,030
 

2006 VUE Red Line
2007 SKY
Default Re: Top speed?

You can do 120+mph with the OEM plastic intake in a 05-07 Red Line...

...
2006 Black VUE Red Line - Now running iOS 11

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to BobbyP's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help BobbyP reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
BobbyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 05:27 PM   #9
Hoagrod
Advanced Member
Hoagrod is on a distinguished road
 
Hoagrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 549

2006 VUE Red Line
Default Re: Top speed?

w/fujita 125mph

...
2006 Vue RedLine.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Hoagrod's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Hoagrod reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Hoagrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 07:53 PM   #10
BobbyP
Master Member
BobbyP is just really niceBobbyP is just really niceBobbyP is just really niceBobbyP is just really nice
 
BobbyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 7,030
 

2006 VUE Red Line
2007 SKY
Default Re: Top speed?

I plead the 5th...

But I can't see how the intake can affect a vehicle whose top end is electronically governed, and the vehicle is capable of going 10-20 more mph faster.

I'm certain we could get 135mph+ if the top end wasn't governed.

Does the Fujita sound weird? I saw on a Solstice forum a post saying it made his car sound like a cappuccino machine going down the street...

...
2006 Black VUE Red Line - Now running iOS 11

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to BobbyP's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help BobbyP reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
BobbyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:36 PM   #11
XRL
Master Member
XRL will become famous soon enoughXRL will become famous soon enough
 
XRL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 2,841

2004 VUE Red Line
Default Re: Top speed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spdjnke View Post
just curious, but what's the point of trying to max out your RL? or am I missing something? want to go fast get a X5??
Lol @ X5s going fast (unless its an X5M, 50i, or maybe 4.8is/4.6is).

The X5 isn't designed for speed. It's designed to sell SUVs to people who want everyone to know they drive a German car.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to XRL's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help XRL reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
XRL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 10:13 PM   #12
Hoagrod
Advanced Member
Hoagrod is on a distinguished road
 
Hoagrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 549

2006 VUE Red Line
Default Re: Top speed?

Well my RL with fujita sounds pretty good and very much unlike a cappuccino machine. I can try to get a video of it. I was joking about the 125, but not joking about the 110mph with some to go even after the reprogram.

...
2006 Vue RedLine.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Hoagrod's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Hoagrod reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Hoagrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 12:39 PM   #13
RedGeminiPA
Senior Member
RedGeminiPA will become famous soon enough
 
RedGeminiPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 1,442
 

2004 VUE 3.5L
Default Re: Top speed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyP View Post
You can do 120+mph with the OEM plastic intake in a 05-07 Red Line...
Edit that to 100 for '05s that got neutered with the TC campaign reprogramming...

...
Avid Apple, car and vacuum enthusiast. Don't hate! ;)

Current:
'04 FWD 3.5L

Previous:
'05 AWD Red Line
'02 L200

http://www.facebook.com/SaturnFansNorthEast

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to RedGeminiPA's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help RedGeminiPA reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
RedGeminiPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 03:21 PM   #14
smithbrady64
Member
smithbrady64 is on a distinguished road
 
smithbrady64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 104
Default Re: Top speed?

alright. just making sure. ha haven't done any performance upgrades. should a k&n intake help get me to 110? i had a cutlass before the RL and it hit 115 easy.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to smithbrady64's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help smithbrady64 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
smithbrady64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 03:31 PM   #15
pyroom
Advanced Member
pyroom is on a distinguished road
 
pyroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Winnipeg MB
Posts: 521

2004 VUE 3.5L
Default Re: Top speed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smithbrady64 View Post
alright. just making sure. ha haven't done any performance upgrades. should a k&n intake help get me to 110? i had a cutlass before the RL and it hit 115 easy.
No the Redline is easily capable of 130 stock, it's electronically limited because of the rating on the stock tires. As far as I'm concerned my K&N flows worse than stock. The piping was narrower than the stock throttle body, metal, and followed the awful stock route making it very prone to heat-soak. The only thing the K&N does is sound nice at 4500rpm+ and clog MAF sensors.

...
2004 Vue 3.5L AWD

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to pyroom's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help pyroom reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
pyroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 10:37 PM   #16
smithbrady64
Member
smithbrady64 is on a distinguished road
 
smithbrady64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 104
Default Re: Top speed?

so that's a "no-go" on the K&N. im new to the J series motors (had a d series in my civic) so any advice or help on how to get more speed and acceleration is very helpful.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to smithbrady64's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help smithbrady64 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
smithbrady64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 10:41 PM   #17
RedGeminiPA
Senior Member
RedGeminiPA will become famous soon enough
 
RedGeminiPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 1,442
 

2004 VUE 3.5L
Default Re: Top speed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smithbrady64 View Post
so that's a "no-go" on the K&N. im new to the J series motors (had a d series in my civic) so any advice or help on how to get more speed and acceleration is very helpful.
You may find ways to gain acceleration, but top end is limited by the BCM... I'm still thinking about calling the dealer and making them reprogram mine with the VIN from an '06...

It's sad to say, but there are times when 120 MPH can be fun and or necessary

...
Avid Apple, car and vacuum enthusiast. Don't hate! ;)

Current:
'04 FWD 3.5L

Previous:
'05 AWD Red Line
'02 L200

http://www.facebook.com/SaturnFansNorthEast

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to RedGeminiPA's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help RedGeminiPA reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
RedGeminiPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 10:50 PM   #18
smithbrady64
Member
smithbrady64 is on a distinguished road
 
smithbrady64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 104
Default Re: Top speed?

exactly! haha and tell me more about this vin situation, im curious!

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to smithbrady64's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help smithbrady64 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
smithbrady64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 10:56 PM   #19
RedGeminiPA
Senior Member
RedGeminiPA will become famous soon enough
 
RedGeminiPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 1,442
 

2004 VUE 3.5L
Default Re: Top speed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smithbrady64 View Post
exactly! haha and tell me more about this vin situation, im curious!
After I took my '05 Red Line in for the torque converter campaign, I later discovered the top speed was reduced to 100. I had it up to 115 with room to go prior to the work being done.

Others on the forums said their '06 & '07s still go 120+ after the BCM update. I was advised to use the VIN from one of those years, and see if my dealer would update it using that VIN.

It seems the '04 was completely ignored for the campaign, and the '05 Red Line updates are the same as the regular 3.5 Vue. Only the '06 & '07 Red Lines have specific VIN-based BCM updates.

...
Avid Apple, car and vacuum enthusiast. Don't hate! ;)

Current:
'04 FWD 3.5L

Previous:
'05 AWD Red Line
'02 L200

http://www.facebook.com/SaturnFansNorthEast

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to RedGeminiPA's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help RedGeminiPA reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
RedGeminiPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 11:01 PM   #20
smithbrady64
Member
smithbrady64 is on a distinguished road
 
smithbrady64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 104
Default Re: Top speed?

interesting. and thats crappy! if you're gonna do that anytime soon let us know! cause i havent been doing any racing... maybe i'll look into getting more air to the air box tomorrow.

...
No fat chicks. Car will scrape.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to smithbrady64's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help smithbrady64 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
smithbrady64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing the Speed Limiter: Disconnecting the Input and Output Speed Sensors AlexofNazareth S-Series Mods 35 11-19-2010 07:21 PM
More Six-Speed Automatics Coming as GM Announces Plan to Close 4-Speed Transmission P Charlie General Saturn Discussion 1 05-13-2008 08:49 AM
Any reason to upgrade to the 2.4 w\6 speed over the current 4 speed? Aratech Aura General 5 05-10-2008 04:15 PM
'01 Speed Chip and Speed Boost? (from eBay) Disturbed_One S-Series Mods 46 02-23-2008 01:11 PM
Danger: High speed thread! Top speed on L300V6 and 2.2 -ecotec? 2k3L300HID L-Series General 64 03-10-2005 11:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:38 AM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.