SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-07-2008, 10:30 PM   #1
sandybright
sandybright is on a distinguished road

1999 SL2
Wrench Looking for good mechanic in NJ area for radiator work...

Hey guys,

Not quite sure where else to turn so I'm hoping someone here can help. I've been havin probs with the car lately (99 SL2) and brought it in to the dealership to take a look. They took a look and determined I needed alot of radiator work, specifically a new water pump, new radiator w/ hoses, and new coolant reservoir...They're quoting me $1100.

Anyhow, I'm wondering if they're trying to overcharge me. In forms of leaking coolant, I have to refill my coolant about every 5 days. Being a poor college student, I'm trying to determine just how dire these repairs can be while at the same time not killing my engine.

1999 Blackberry SC1 - 74,000 miles 2002-2005 :(

1999 Blackberry SL2 - 121,000 miles 2006-present

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to sandybright's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help sandybright reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
sandybright is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 01-07-2008, 11:24 PM   #2
Greg1
Greg1 will become famous soon enough

1997 SW2
1998 SL2
Default Re: Looking for good mechanic in NJ area for radiator work...

Radiator, water pump and hoses should be under $200 at Rockauto.com. I don't think the reservoir is available aftermarket. Perhaps you could find someone at college that is car savy that you could hire.

97 SW2 5-Sp 273k -mine
02 SC2 5-Sp 67k - best friend's

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Greg1's Reputation