SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series General
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2010, 03:49 PM   #1
saturnsctwo
Master Member
saturnsctwo is a jewel in the roughsaturnsctwo is a jewel in the roughsaturnsctwo is a jewel in the rough
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,383

2001 SC2
Default remote battery

a 2001 sc2 remote, does anybody off hand know the battery number?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to saturnsctwo's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help saturnsctwo reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
saturnsctwo is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 12-09-2010, 04:04 PM   #2
ShawnV
Master Member
ShawnV is a jewel in the roughShawnV is a jewel in the roughShawnV is a jewel in the roughShawnV is a jewel in the rough
 
ShawnV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 2,680
 

2000 SW2
Default Re: remote battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnsctwo View Post
a 2001 sc2 remote, does anybody off hand know the battery number?
The battery in my 2001 controller is CR2032. My controller is GM16263074-99

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to ShawnV's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help ShawnV reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
ShawnV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 04:07 PM   #3
saturnsctwo
Master Member
saturnsctwo is a jewel in the roughsaturnsctwo is a jewel in the roughsaturnsctwo is a jewel in the rough
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,383

2001 SC2
Default Re: remote battery

if i quickly change the battery in my remote will i have to reprogram the remote or will it work as usual?

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to saturnsctwo's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help saturnsctwo reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
saturnsctwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 04:15 PM   #4
ShawnV
Master Member
ShawnV is a jewel in the roughShawnV is a jewel in the roughShawnV is a jewel in the roughShawnV is a jewel in the rough
 
ShawnV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 2,680
 

2000 SW2
Default Re: remote battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnsctwo View Post
if i quickly change the battery in my remote will i have to reprogram the remote or will it work as usual?
I think the remote sends out the same signal and the car is what is programmed to the remote. I don't think it matters how long the remote goes without power, but let's see what the experts say.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to ShawnV's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help ShawnV reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
ShawnV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 04:17 PM   #5
saturnsctwo
Master Member
saturnsctwo is a jewel in the roughsaturnsctwo is a jewel in the roughsaturnsctwo is a jewel in the rough
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,383

2001 SC2
Default Re: remote battery

i remember when the car was new the car itself was reprogrammed to beep the horn when arming/disarming. it didn't beep the horn at first, but i think it was optional to have it do that or something. they didn't do anything to the remote though as far as i remember....

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to saturnsctwo's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help saturnsctwo reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
saturnsctwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 08:40 PM   #6
saturnsctwo
Master Member
saturnsctwo is a jewel in the roughsaturnsctwo is a jewel in the roughsaturnsctwo is a jewel in the rough
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,383

2001 SC2
Default Re: remote battery

just to clarify something, the remote works fine & always did, but the range is not what it used to be. the battery is original & 10 years old so by now it should be replaced i would think. i read other threads about battery replacement & how sometimes the contacts inside need to be cleaned which i would do, but the question remains do i have to reprogram the remote if the battery is removed? this info is sketchy in the other threads as those threads all seem to be about trouble with their remotes but mine is fine, just might need a new battery after 10 years....

i don't want to wait until the battery is completely dead & leaks & ruins a good remote...

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to saturnsctwo's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help saturnsctwo reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
saturnsctwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 10:43 PM   #7
madpogue
Super Member
madpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud ofmadpogue has much to be proud of
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Madison, WI USA
Posts: 25,713
 

1996 SW2
Default Re: remote battery

Check your owner's manual. I know with the gen-2 cars, just replacing the battery means you do have to sync the remote again, but it's not as involved a procedure as the full-on reprogram with the paper clip. I _think_ there's a similar procedure for the gen-3 cars, not requiring a dealer re-program.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to madpogue's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help madpogue reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
madpogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 08:57 PM   #8
termite
Member
termite is a jewel in the roughtermite is a jewel in the roughtermite is a jewel in the rough
 
termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Havertown PA
Posts: 411
 

2001 SC2
Default Re: remote battery

I never had a problem when changing the battery in my remotes.
Just have a new one ready and put it in.

...
It's GOOD to have a spare!

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to termite's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help termite reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 08:58 PM   #9
saturnsctwo
Master Member
saturnsctwo is a jewel in the roughsaturnsctwo is a jewel in the roughsaturnsctwo is a jewel in the rough
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,383

2001 SC2
Default Re: remote battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by termite View Post
I never had a problem when changing the battery in my remotes.
Just have a new one ready and put it in.
i see you have a 2001 sc2. you changed that one with no issues? all i want to do is to change the 10 year old battery...

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to saturnsctwo's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help saturnsctwo reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
saturnsctwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 09:02 PM   #10
SLCraig
Master Member
SLCraig is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, ON
Posts: 3,077

1996 SL2
2000 SW2
Default Re: remote battery

Change the battery, you are fine.

When I got my '00, the 2nd remote didn't even have a battery in it, could have been for months, I have no idea.

When I put in a new battery, it worked right off the bat.

...
1996 SL2 5MT
1997 SL1 5MT
2000 SW2 5MT
All gone, but not forgotten.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to SLCraig's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help SLCraig reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
SLCraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 09:08 PM   #11
saturnsctwo
Master Member
saturnsctwo is a jewel in the roughsaturnsctwo is a jewel in the roughsaturnsctwo is a jewel in the rough
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,383

2001 SC2
Default Re: remote battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLCraig View Post
Change the battery, you are fine.

When I got my '00, the 2nd remote didn't even have a battery in it, could have been for months, I have no idea.

When I put in a new battery, it worked right off the bat.
ok cool. maybe i will also clean the contacts inside. i heard they get dirty. i also have a second remote. i wonder if i chould change that battery also. both batteries are original. at least 10 years old. i'm surprised the remotes still work good.....

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to saturnsctwo's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help saturnsctwo reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
saturnsctwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 09:52 PM   #12
SLCraig
Master Member
SLCraig is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, ON
Posts: 3,077

1996 SL2
2000 SW2
Default Re: remote battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnsctwo View Post
ok cool. maybe i will also clean the contacts inside. i heard they get dirty. i also have a second remote. i wonder if i chould change that battery also. both batteries are original. at least 10 years old. i'm surprised the remotes still work good.....
Just clean the terminals with windex or something like that. (works great)
I find the remotes respond even better after a cleaning. Nice sensitive button depression. My remotes for my SW work perfectly after a cleaning. new batts in each.

...
1996 SL2 5MT
1997 SL1 5MT
2000 SW2 5MT
All gone, but not forgotten.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to SLCraig's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help SLCraig reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
SLCraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 10:01 PM   #13
saturnsctwo
Master Member
saturnsctwo is a jewel in the roughsaturnsctwo is a jewel in the roughsaturnsctwo is a jewel in the rough
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,383

2001 SC2
Default Re: remote battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLCraig View Post
Just clean the terminals with windex or something like that. (works great)
I find the remotes respond even better after a cleaning. Nice sensitive button depression. My remotes for my SW work perfectly after a cleaning. new batts in each.
my remote works very good seeing the battery is 10 years old. the range is shorter than it was before, but still good. i think the reason for the long life is i keep it in one of those rubber coin purses ya know what i'm talking about right? they are oval shaped with a chan on one end. it keeps the remote from getting banged up. i will clean the contacts even though. they must be even slightly dirty after 10 years old...

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to saturnsctwo's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help saturnsctwo reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
saturnsctwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 02:23 PM   #14
saturnsctwo
Master Member
saturnsctwo is a jewel in the roughsaturnsctwo is a jewel in the roughsaturnsctwo is a jewel in the rough
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,383

2001 SC2
Default Re: remote battery

just changed the battery. my remote was clean as a whistle inside. now i got the range again. the original battery looked like now no leakage. i guess these batteries are really leak resistant seeing how long they stay in place....

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to saturnsctwo's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help saturnsctwo reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
saturnsctwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing remote key battery bo130 S-Series General 10 04-15-2017 01:30 PM
Remote key: What happens when the battery is dead? JunkYardSaint Ion General 4 03-25-2016 04:22 AM
New battery now no sounds from remote synlupri Ion Tech 6 07-25-2010 02:15 PM
Remote Key (Fob) not working after dead battery skyrn Sky Tech 2 09-08-2009 11:49 PM
Remote Start - New Battery unit731 S-Series Tech 2 12-24-2008 07:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:44 PM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.