SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Mods
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-12-2007, 06:38 PM   #1
Yann
Yann is on a distinguished road

Default 2001 SL1---need some performance tips

Hey everyone, I bought a flooded 2001 SL1, here's what I've done so far:

-swapped out the SOHC for a DOHC (currently 21k miles in DOHC)
-aluminum rims (from an SL2)
- drop-in K&N filter (probably a stupid idea, should have bought an intake instead)
-switched out all the electronics

So here's the thing: I'm a total noob when it comes to performance parts, and I'm on a $300 budget. I don't know what I should go for, intake, exhaust? What's the best way to spend my money to get a decent performance boost? Also, I was wondering if the SL2 differed from the SL1 in anything other than the twin cam and power doors/locks?

I saw a "universal performance intake" at Pep Boys for $60 but I don't trust anything that's that cheap. Should I go for it?

Thanks a million

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to Yann's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help Yann reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
Yann is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 10-12-2007, 06:57 PM   #2
HiWire
HiWire is just really niceHiWire is just really niceHiWire is just really niceHiWire is just really niceHiWire is just really nice

2001 SC2
Default Re: 2001 SL1---need some performance tips