SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-07-2006, 04:56 PM   #1
3.8TransAM
3.8TransAM is on a distinguished road

1992 SL1
Default My thoughts and experiences on oil consumption

92 SL1

147k and counting, damn beater is growing on me and Im trying to find another to replace it lol

Mine was using oil when I got it at 107k from the dealership I was a tech at.

Countless MMO and GM Top Engine Clean(best stuff period) soaks have been done.

Car ended up using(at its worst) 1-2 qrts a tank minimum. Every now and then a fluke 1 quart tank.

Dont do anything until you have a Saturn PCV. I did oil consumption testing on mine and it dropped 1/4 to 1/2 with the factory pcv than with parts store generic.

Further more, this last Mon I did a full clean out on the car, removed and cleaned plugs(i clean them so often i dont bother buying new ones unitl the procelein starts chipping).

Used B12(available quick and cheap at wally world here) and poured the entire can into all 4 cylinders and litely screwed the plugs back in.(I like do to this with the engine almost hot(only cooll enough to work on)

Than went about my way flushing the tranny fluid and other assorted tasks.(engine/tranny mounts make huge huge differences on these things, if in doubt replace them)

Due to opening the pool on Mon, the B12 was basically there for 4 hours or so since the car sat for a few hours while I did other things.

Blew the B12 from the cylinders and let it air dry for awhile and then poured a slight amount of MMO in all the holes to get some oil back on the rings.

Cleaned the MMO out and put the new freshly cleaned plugs back in (quit your whining if I didnt clean them I'd be putting in a new set every 1000k)