SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series General
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-14-2009, 07:42 PM   #1
thawkth
thawkth is on a distinguished road

Wrench Idle/Throttle/ECTS/Radiator? - Engine Revving High/Idles funny.

I recently bought a 1998 Saturn SL1 5 Spd with about 150k

I paid a bit more for it than I would have had I known what it needed beforehand, but we'll see how she works out.

The issues I have are:

Needs new radiator (small crack, leaks coolant)
Needs axle, basic structural (i.e. ball joints)

All of this I understand. The strange part is the idle/revving.

This is my first 5spd and as such I'm still learning how to drive it.

The engine always seems to be idling a bit high, revving even. It's a bit loud when first started, about 2k rpms. (also idles around 2k - If I shift into first with clutch in at stop I need to wait about 5-10 sec for idle to drop down to 1k)
The harder part to explain comes when actually driving it. (I'll try not to sound like an idiot as I explain this haha)

When stopped, in first, obviously one lets off the clutch adding gas etc to move.

However, when moving and changing between any other gears I cannot give it any gas after shifting as the engine is revving enough to shift.

This makes it a bit more complicated to learn how to drive on haha!

Anyway, my brother who is more mechanical than I am feels we should replace the structural components first (as having something go will be dangerous) as well as the Radiator/Hoses/ECTS (which I've read alot about on this site)

I'm wondering if this will likely repair the issue, or if there's something else I should check at the same time? Throttle Position sensor, for instance?

Thank you for reading and please let me know what you think!