SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series Tech
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-26-2011, 10:24 PM   #1
npdimonte
npdimonte will become famous soon enoughnpdimonte will become famous soon enough

Question Replacing brake master w/ABS, need advice please...

I will be replacing a brake master cylinder on a '93 SL2 with ABS and have questions on how to do this. Do I need a special scan tool do this job?
I have been reading that the modulator drive gears are under spring load. Whats the best way to relieve this spring load?
Then, how do you bench bleed this master unit? there are no threads on the lower port holes. I normally connect a line from each port and route it back to the reservoir when I bench bleed the master. Do you connect the ABS unit and then bench bleed it?

Thanks for any advice, this is my first time replacing a Saturn brake master with ABS.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to npdimonte's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help npdimonte reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
npdimonte is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 07-26-2011, 11:08 PM   #2
PlasticCarsRock
Master Member
PlasticCarsRock is a jewel in the roughPlasticCarsRock is a jewel in the roughPlasticCarsRock is a jewel in the rough

1995 SL2
Default Re: Replacing brake master w/ABS, need advice please...

Quote:
Originally Posted by npdimonte View Post
I will be replacing a brake master cylinder on a '93 SL2 with ABS and have questions on how to do this. Do I need a special scan tool do this job?
I have been reading that the modulator drive gears are under spring load. Whats the best way to relieve this spring load?