SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums - webmail


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn Vue > Vue Red Line

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2012, 09:31 PM   #1
RedGeminiPA
Senior Member
RedGeminiPA will become famous soon enough
 
RedGeminiPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 1,442
 

2004 VUE 3.5L
Default Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line

It's confirmed... my RL could easily top out at 115 before the TC replace campaign. Now it's limited to 100...

Not that I make it a habit of going that fast, but sometimes you need the extra speed when you're passing a handful of slow-ass cars on a two lane back road...

Oh, and it doesn't like to upshift into 5th under full-throttle once top limited speed is reached... another thing it had no problem with before being neutered.

I really feel like complaining to GM, but nobody will listen...
...
Avid Apple, car and vacuum enthusiast. Don't hate! ;)

Current:
'04 FWD 3.5L

Previous:
'05 AWD Red Line
'02 L200

http://www.facebook.com/SaturnFansNorthEast
RedGeminiPA is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 02-20-2012, 12:41 AM   #2
Hoagrod
Advanced Member
Hoagrod is on a distinguished road
 
Hoagrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 549

2006 VUE Red Line
Default Re: Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line

I wonder if the top speed is only limited on the 04's and 05's? I had my software updated under this recall and mine still goes well over 100mph
...
2006 Vue RedLine.
Hoagrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 09:32 AM   #3
RedGeminiPA
Senior Member
RedGeminiPA will become famous soon enough
 
RedGeminiPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 1,442
 

2004 VUE 3.5L
Default Re: Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoagrod View Post
I wonder if the top speed is only limited on the 04's and 05's? I had my software updated under this recall and mine still goes well over 100mph
Interesting. When was yours done? I'm wondering if this is something recent.
...
Avid Apple, car and vacuum enthusiast. Don't hate! ;)

Current:
'04 FWD 3.5L

Previous:
'05 AWD Red Line
'02 L200

http://www.facebook.com/SaturnFansNorthEast
RedGeminiPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 02:27 PM   #4
Hoagrod
Advanced Member
Hoagrod is on a distinguished road
 
Hoagrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 549

2006 VUE Red Line
Default Re: Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line

I think it was done in April or May of 2011
...
2006 Vue RedLine.
Hoagrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 04:28 PM   #5
col_dude190
Advanced Member
col_dude190 has a spectacular aura aboutcol_dude190 has a spectacular aura aboutcol_dude190 has a spectacular aura about
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Erie
Posts: 633

2006 VUE Red Line
2004 ION-3 Quad Coupe
Default Re: Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoagrod View Post
I wonder if the top speed is only limited on the 04's and 05's? I had my software updated under this recall and mine still goes well over 100mph
Agreed. My '06 Redline was done in March 2011 right after the campaign started and it still happily flies past 100mph. My guess would be that GM didn't do their due diligence and screwed '05 owners with only one updated program instead of two different ones. This was from another '05 owner who had a similar issue...

http://www.saturnfans.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=164960

My suggestion would be to take your Vue back to the dealer with the VIN from an '06 Redline and force them to use that VIN to reprogram your PCM. The PCM's are all identical between '04 and '07, so there is no reason that they couldn't reprogram your PCM based on a later model VIN. The Tech Tool 2 may not be very happy about it, but I would imagine it can be done.
col_dude190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 11:00 PM   #6
Saturninin
Senior Member
Saturninin will become famous soon enough
 
Saturninin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NW (The region), In
Posts: 1,809
 

2005 VUE 3.5L
1994 SL2
Default Re: Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line

My 05 Vue must of had the torque worked on........ she tops out at 100 :/
(side note...... got a ticket all ready in her.... 71 in a 50 :/ )
...
Wanted: Dealer items (frames/ key-chains)

Miles(k) 2013~15
94 HCE ~180
05 Vue 3.5 87~140
98 SL1 260~426
08 Outlook XE 20~160
95 SC2 ~128

Past
96 SW2, 98 SL2
160k+ 95 SL,98 SW2, 03 Vue-I4
Saturninin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 12:17 AM   #7
BobbyP
Master Member
BobbyP is just really niceBobbyP is just really niceBobbyP is just really niceBobbyP is just really nice
 
BobbyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 7,030
 

2006 VUE Red Line
2007 SKY
Default Re: Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line

Speed demons....

Knock on fake wood, I never got pulled over for anything in my VUE. I can't say that about my SC...
...
2006 Black VUE Red Line - Now running iOS 11
BobbyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 12:40 AM   #8
Midnight13
Senior Member
Midnight13 is on a distinguished road
 
Midnight13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 1,272

1998 SL
2005 VUE 3.5L
Default Re: Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line

"If it aint broke don't fix it"

Still don't understand why some are getting their Vues messed with at all!

From mpg drops, to lower top speeds...i'm not letting GM touch my Vue!
...
"Not for human consumption!" - Peas in the Pod

http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Peas-in-a-Pod/160649663950771
Midnight13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 01:26 AM   #9
Saturninin
Senior Member
Saturninin will become famous soon enough
 
Saturninin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NW (The region), In
Posts: 1,809
 

2005 VUE 3.5L
1994 SL2
Default Re: Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyP View Post
Speed demons....

Knock on fake wood, I never got pulled over for anything in my VUE. I can't say that about my SC...
Me speed demon never haha

Owned less than 12 hrs and had a ticket in my VUE
...
Wanted: Dealer items (frames/ key-chains)

Miles(k) 2013~15
94 HCE ~180
05 Vue 3.5 87~140
98 SL1 260~426
08 Outlook XE 20~160
95 SC2 ~128

Past
96 SW2, 98 SL2
160k+ 95 SL,98 SW2, 03 Vue-I4
Saturninin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 09:52 AM   #10
RedGeminiPA
Senior Member
RedGeminiPA will become famous soon enough
 
RedGeminiPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 1,442
 

2004 VUE 3.5L
Default Re: Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line

Quote:
Originally Posted by col_dude190 View Post
My suggestion would be to take your Vue back to the dealer with the VIN from an '06 Redline and force them to use that VIN to reprogram your PCM. The PCM's are all identical between '04 and '07, so there is no reason that they couldn't reprogram your PCM based on a later model VIN. The Tech Tool 2 may not be very happy about it, but I would imagine it can be done.
I was thinking about this. Since there were other electrical changes made in '06, you don't think it would play a part in using an '06-'07 VIN?

The VINs are easy to find, once you locate one on autotrader.com or the like.

Has someone had success doing this that you're aware of?
...
Avid Apple, car and vacuum enthusiast. Don't hate! ;)

Current:
'04 FWD 3.5L

Previous:
'05 AWD Red Line
'02 L200

http://www.facebook.com/SaturnFansNorthEast
RedGeminiPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 02:57 PM   #11
col_dude190
Advanced Member
col_dude190 has a spectacular aura aboutcol_dude190 has a spectacular aura aboutcol_dude190 has a spectacular aura about
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Erie
Posts: 633

2006 VUE Red Line
2004 ION-3 Quad Coupe
Default Re: Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedGeminiPA View Post
I was thinking about this. Since there were other electrical changes made in '06, you don't think it would play a part in using an '06-'07 VIN?

The VINs are easy to find, once you locate one on autotrader.com or the like.

Has someone had success doing this that you're aware of?
With reprogramming the PCM, no there should be no difference. The engine management systems (PCM, wiring, etc.) all remained completely the same from '04-'07. Even though there were interior electrical changes and changes to headlights for '06, those changes all involve body electrical, which has nothing to do with the PCM and the powertrain.There are several owners on here (3Redlines comes to mind) that have easily swapped PCMs between Vues without any issues. Its just a matter of performing a relearn process to get the PCM to function correctly. It stands to reason that if your PCM was reprogrammed using a different VIN, say from an '06 or '07 Redline, that it would simply be a matter of performing a relearn, if necessary at all, to get the newer PCM software to work in your '05 Vue.

Obviously getting your Vue's PCM reprogrammed with a different VIN is going to come down to having a good dealer that is willing to work with you and a tech that is willing to play around on the Tech Tool 2.

As far as knowing of anyone who has done this, the only member that I know of that was discussing it was TTiger. He PM'd me a few times after that initial thread was started inquiring about my Vue and its software update and asking if my dealer did anything special to maintain my Redline's higher governor. As far as I know he was working with his dealer to get it figured out, but I never heard whether or not he was successful. It appears that he dropped off the boards after that thread, so who knows if he had any success with his dealer.
col_dude190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 12:22 PM   #12
vueredline0504
Junior Member
vueredline0504 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line

I need to take my 2005 RL in for the reprogram. We do not experience any of the shudder that the recall notice speaks of. Should I still have this done if we are not experiencing any issues?
vueredline0504 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 01:31 PM   #13
RedGeminiPA
Senior Member
RedGeminiPA will become famous soon enough
 
RedGeminiPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 1,442
 

2004 VUE 3.5L
Default Re: Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line

Quote:
Originally Posted by vueredline0504 View Post
I need to take my 2005 RL in for the reprogram. We do not experience any of the shudder that the recall notice speaks of. Should I still have this done if we are not experiencing any issues?
That's your preference. There are many members here who aren't having it done because of the decrease in city mileage and, for us '05 RL owners, the neutering of the top speed.

If they're only reprogramming, I think I'd skip it. The only thing it'll do is delay when it drops to 5th gear and locks up the torque converter - sucking more gas around town. You'd be better off just keeping up on regular fluid changes (25k or so miles between changes).
...
Avid Apple, car and vacuum enthusiast. Don't hate! ;)

Current:
'04 FWD 3.5L

Previous:
'05 AWD Red Line
'02 L200

http://www.facebook.com/SaturnFansNorthEast
RedGeminiPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 02:56 PM   #14
ttigger
New Member
ttigger is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line

Quote:
Originally Posted by Midnight13 View Post
"If it aint broke don't fix it"

Still don't understand why some are getting their Vues messed with at all!

From mpg drops, to lower top speeds...i'm not letting GM touch my Vue!
Wish I hadn't-Took 3 dealer visits and 2 months to get mine back the way it was ! If you threaten enough they will and can get the top speed back.
ttigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 03:00 PM   #15
ttigger
New Member
ttigger is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line

Quote:
Originally Posted by col_dude190 View Post
With reprogramming the PCM, no there should be no difference. The engine management systems (PCM, wiring, etc.) all remained completely the same from '04-'07. Even though there were interior electrical changes and changes to headlights for '06, those changes all involve body electrical, which has nothing to do with the PCM and the powertrain.There are several owners on here (3Redlines comes to mind) that have easily swapped PCMs between Vues without any issues. Its just a matter of performing a relearn process to get the PCM to function correctly. It stands to reason that if your PCM was reprogrammed using a different VIN, say from an '06 or '07 Redline, that it would simply be a matter of performing a relearn, if necessary at all, to get the newer PCM software to work in your '05 Vue.

Obviously getting your Vue's PCM reprogrammed with a different VIN is going to come down to having a good dealer that is willing to work with you and a tech that is willing to play around on the Tech Tool 2.

As far as knowing of anyone who has done this, the only member that I know of that was discussing it was TTiger. He PM'd me a few times after that initial thread was started inquiring about my Vue and its software update and asking if my dealer did anything special to maintain my Redline's higher governor. As far as I know he was working with his dealer to get it figured out, but I never heard whether or not he was successful. It appears that he dropped off the boards after that thread, so who knows if he had any success with his dealer.
Sorry I dropped off the grid. After relentless "gritching" at the dealer they did get a program back in the PCM that gave me a 125+mph. I am happy.
ttigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2013, 09:05 PM   #16
AJEsquire
Member
AJEsquire is on a distinguished road
 
AJEsquire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 271

2005 VUE Red Line
Default Re: Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line

Quote:
Originally Posted by ttigger View Post
Sorry I dropped off the grid. After relentless "gritching" at the dealer they did get a program back in the PCM that gave me a 125+mph. I am happy.
OMG tigger, message me please! I need your help!!!!!!!
AJEsquire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 04:31 PM   #17
AJEsquire
Member
AJEsquire is on a distinguished road
 
AJEsquire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 271

2005 VUE Red Line
Default Re: Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line

Ttigger, did you use an '06 vin? Or did they just recalibrate your pcm???
Chevy will recalibrate it, but they say if there is no check engine light on then it won't make a difference? So i will be gambling with 105 dollars to see if "recalibrating" the pcm will fix the issue. Did you tell them anything in particular to do? They will not warranty the recalibration...
AJEsquire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 10:54 PM   #18
JosephN79
Member
JosephN79 is on a distinguished road
 
JosephN79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northern KY
Posts: 264

2004 VUE Red Line
Default Re: Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line

I'm probably not going to do the update . . .but if I did . . . is it possible that its something you could use an aftermarket programmer or someone that knows how to do it to get your top speed? Or is it strictly GM Techs that do it with their equipment?

I have an 04 3.5. I'm pretty sure the TC is original in it, it drives fine and all. It only goes 100 ish, which is fine by me.

Thanks
JosephN79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 07:42 AM   #19
AJEsquire
Member
AJEsquire is on a distinguished road
 
AJEsquire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 271

2005 VUE Red Line
Default Re: Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line

Quote:
Originally Posted by JosephN79 View Post
I'm probably not going to do the update . . .but if I did . . . is it possible that its something you could use an aftermarket programmer or someone that knows how to do it to get your top speed? Or is it strictly GM Techs that do it with their equipment?

I have an 04 3.5. I'm pretty sure the TC is original in it, it drives fine and all. It only goes 100 ish, which is fine by me.

Thanks
from my understanding....04's were always governed at 100mph, so nothing is wrong with it.
AJEsquire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 01:06 PM   #20
tbasse01
Junior Member
tbasse01 is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 22
Default Re: Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line

My 06 had no change, but the shift points changed (for the better)
tbasse01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
torque converter badbobby S-Series Tech 3 01-01-2012 07:22 PM
Torque Converter Question? ajones171 Vue General 2 05-17-2009 05:14 PM
3.5L '05 w/ bad torque converter :-( dcolello Vue Tech 6 12-21-2008 04:18 AM
92 SL2 Torque converter breslau S-Series General 1 02-13-2006 07:32 AM
WTB: Torque Converter for '97 SL1 frpst9 Classifieds 1 09-09-2004 09:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:51 PM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.