SaturnFans.com
saturnfans.com - classifieds - forums - webmail


Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn Vue > Vue Red Line

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2012, 09:14 AM   #1
RedGeminiPA
Senior Member
RedGeminiPA will become famous soon enough
 
RedGeminiPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 1,442
 

2004 VUE 3.5L
Default Read!! '05 Red Line torque converter campaign update!!!

I've been in talks with GM over the neutering of my Red Line under the torque converter campaign, as many of you know.

I went to my dealer this morning, expecting to pay them $85 for a diagnostic fee that wouldn't show any problems, just to get this issue escalated to someone higher within GM.

They had my Vue for about 30 minutes. When I walked in, they handed me the keys, told me there was an update to the PCM software - "We plugged it in, and it showed a new software number. We have no idea what it addresses, but we're not going to try to take it over 100 MPH to find out." - they did NOT charge me for the service visit, and off I went.

I took it up on the interstate, and waited for a clear cruising lane - hammered it - BOOM! 121 (ish) MPH!!!! UP HILL!!! I even did it a couple more times just to make sure

So, for everyone with a neutered '05 Red Line, make an appointment with your dealer! GM updated the software!!

I don't know if it was my complaining, or what, but they did it!!
...
Avid Apple, car and vacuum enthusiast. Don't hate! ;)

Current:
'04 FWD 3.5L

Previous:
'05 AWD Red Line
'02 L200

http://www.facebook.com/SaturnFansNorthEast
RedGeminiPA is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 04-20-2012, 03:53 PM   #2
05BlueVueRL
Junior Member
05BlueVueRL is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 24

2005 VUE Red Line
Default Re: Read!! '05 Red Line torque converter campaign update!!!

Very interesting. I really haven't tried to max my speed since I've owned it but I might have to try it now.

Question though. When did you originally have yours reprogrammed? I think mine was done last October 2011 and was wondering when they possibly "updated" the program.

Thanks!
05BlueVueRL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 11:09 PM   #3
RedGeminiPA
Senior Member
RedGeminiPA will become famous soon enough
 
RedGeminiPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 1,442
 

2004 VUE 3.5L
Default Re: Read!! '05 Red Line torque converter campaign update!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 05BlueVueRL View Post
Very interesting. I really haven't tried to max my speed since I've owned it but I might have to try it now.

Question though. When did you originally have yours reprogrammed? I think mine was done last October 2011 and was wondering when they possibly "updated" the program.

Thanks!
I had mine done in December '11, so I'm going to guess it was updated very recently.
...
Avid Apple, car and vacuum enthusiast. Don't hate! ;)

Current:
'04 FWD 3.5L

Previous:
'05 AWD Red Line
'02 L200

http://www.facebook.com/SaturnFansNorthEast
RedGeminiPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 07:05 AM   #4
TheVue
Member
TheVue is on a distinguished road
 
TheVue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Andover, MN
Posts: 97

2007 VUE 3.5L
Default Re: Read!! '05 Red Line torque converter campaign update!!!

Do the documents you got from the dealer show what exactly was done? Is there a campaign number or a software update number of some type they refer to on the paperwork?
TheVue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 12:27 PM   #5
RedGeminiPA
Senior Member
RedGeminiPA will become famous soon enough
 
RedGeminiPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 1,442
 

2004 VUE 3.5L
Default Re: Read!! '05 Red Line torque converter campaign update!!!

I didn't get any paperwork from the dealer. The only thing they told me was when they plugged it in to the computer, it showed a different software number for the PCM.

I'm going to guess the reason I didn't get any paperwork is they did it off the books... no paper trail, so no charge. Otherwise, it would've cost me $85 for "diagnostics" fee. Communication between GM and the dealer may have had something to do with it.
...
Avid Apple, car and vacuum enthusiast. Don't hate! ;)

Current:
'04 FWD 3.5L

Previous:
'05 AWD Red Line
'02 L200

http://www.facebook.com/SaturnFansNorthEast
RedGeminiPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 08:57 PM   #6
Au Ra Vue
Member
Au Ra Vue is on a distinguished road
 
Au Ra Vue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ontario
Posts: 128

2006 VUE Red Line
2007 AURA XE
Default Re: Read!! '05 Red Line torque converter campaign update!!!

So, what exactly is the reason for this update?

I was at the dealer and confirmed that mine was on the list, this recall expires in February of 2014 for my 2006 anyway.

I've read a few past threads and it seems like they have got it all figured out. Guess I should get it done..... but it sounds like I need to make sure the reprogramming is for the Redline and not a regular 3.5, correct?
...
*10/11/14 lost my timing belt virginity
*formerly Vue in Ontario
Au Ra Vue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 09:17 PM   #7
Hoagrod
Advanced Member
Hoagrod is on a distinguished road
 
Hoagrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 549

2006 VUE Red Line
Default Re: Read!! '05 Red Line torque converter campaign update!!!

I think it has to do with the gearing and rpms. When I would be going 30mph the rpms would be super low and seemed like it was bogging down. Much like that if in a manual you shift into a high gear going really slow, it boggs.

I could be wrong though.

Or nevermind, I think I'm thinking of the wrong thing
...
2006 Vue RedLine.
Hoagrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 11:02 PM   #8
RedGeminiPA
Senior Member
RedGeminiPA will become famous soon enough
 
RedGeminiPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 1,442
 

2004 VUE 3.5L
Default Re: Read!! '05 Red Line torque converter campaign update!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Au Ra Vue View Post
So, what exactly is the reason for this update?

I was at the dealer and confirmed that mine was on the list, this recall expires in February of 2014 for my 2006 anyway.

I've read a few past threads and it seems like they have got it all figured out. Guess I should get it done..... but it sounds like I need to make sure the reprogramming is for the Redline and not a regular 3.5, correct?
It alters the shift points and torque converter lockup. After the reflash, you'll have to be going at least 50 MPH for it to be in 5th gear AND lockup the torque converter.

Only the '05 Red Line was effected by the incorrect PCM update. They gave them the same update as the standard V6 Vue (non-Red Line - governed at 100-ish). Others here with '06 or '07 Red Lines said theirs had no problem blowing past 100 MPH after having the update performed. Only those with '05 Red Lines reported the reduced top speed after the incorrect update.

It's strictly dependent on your VIN number. The dealer has no control as to which update you get. They just plug it in, and the Tech II does the rest.
...
Avid Apple, car and vacuum enthusiast. Don't hate! ;)

Current:
'04 FWD 3.5L

Previous:
'05 AWD Red Line
'02 L200

http://www.facebook.com/SaturnFansNorthEast
RedGeminiPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 05:21 PM   #9
AJEsquire
Member
AJEsquire is on a distinguished road
 
AJEsquire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 271

2005 VUE Red Line
Default Re: Read!! '05 Red Line torque converter campaign update!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedGeminiPA View Post
It alters the shift points and torque converter lockup. After the reflash, you'll have to be going at least 50 MPH for it to be in 5th gear AND lockup the torque converter.

Only the '05 Red Line was effected by the incorrect PCM update. They gave them the same update as the standard V6 Vue (non-Red Line - governed at 100-ish). Others here with '06 or '07 Red Lines said theirs had no problem blowing past 100 MPH after having the update performed. Only those with '05 Red Lines reported the reduced top speed after the incorrect update.

It's strictly dependent on your VIN number. The dealer has no control as to which update you get. They just plug it in, and the Tech II does the rest.
Wow..once again....this site has saved me time and money. Needless to say I am NOT taking my RL back to the Chevy dealer I went to last week.

Anyhow, so I read this post and it gets me to thinking....maybe I should use my code reader tonight to see if the recall pops up. Then I think that since I just got it back last week from the service center at the dealer, they would have run my vin number and if there was a recall they would have told me. So I call and ask them if when people bring their vehicles in, do they check for recalls everytime? They told me yes, they put the vin number in the computer every visit to check. He told me that he could check my anyhow if I would like and I told them sure. Guess what? They have ordered a new torque converter and it's on its way :-/. So OBVIOUSLY they do NOT do a vin recall check every time you bring your vehicle in, so once again Thanx to this site time and money has been saved once again!!! And thanx to this sight I will not be going to a chevy dealer to get my car serviced again! lol
AJEsquire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Torque Converter campaign neutered my '05 Red Line RedGeminiPA Vue Red Line 26 06-07-2013 09:02 PM
torque converter badbobby S-Series Tech 3 01-01-2012 07:22 PM
3.5L '05 w/ bad torque converter :-( dcolello Vue Tech 6 12-21-2008 04:18 AM
92 SL2 Torque converter breslau S-Series General 1 02-13-2006 07:32 AM
WTB: Torque Converter for '97 SL1 frpst9 Classifieds 1 09-09-2004 09:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:05 PM.

Advanced Forum Search | Advanced Photo Search


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
SaturnFans.com. The Saturn Enthusiasts Site.