SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn Astra > Astra General
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-01-2015, 12:21 PM   #1
hoody123
hoody123 is on a distinguished road

Default High mileage check-in

So, I just thought I'd touch base with folks here. My 2008 xe 5 door now has 283000km on it. I've had it since new and it's still ticking along pretty well. Handling is still at least as good as most other cars I get in and everything pretty much still works as is.

One notable exception is that I had an ABS Sensor die about a month ago. Shop teacher at school (I'm a highschool teacher) investigated and said that a whole big assembly had to be replaced to the tune of around $600, I opted to not bother.

Car is still consistently returning almost exactly 7L/100km at highway speed (110km/h or so) and slightly better than that when I drive on 80km/h roads (around 90-95km/h) although the mileage is significantly impacted during winter driving (I've got snows on it during that time too).

At this point, I figure it owes me exactly nothing, I'll keep driving until it absolutely dies, but it's been a wonderful car overall. It's got some rust down around the very bottom of the body, but at this point, it's all just superficial. I've never rustproofed it, and frankly, I think I've washed it a total of MAYBE 3 times in its entire existence (not kidding, I just can't stand washing cars)

Love to hear how other high milers are fairing.

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to hoody123's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help hoody123 reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
hoody123 is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 07-01-2015, 08:06 PM   #2
AstraPilot
AstraPilot has a spectacular aura aboutAstraPilot has a spectacular aura about

2008 Astra XE