SaturnFans.com
what's new (beta) - classifieds - forums - photos

Go Back   SaturnFans.com Forums > Models > Saturn S-Series > S-Series General
Register FAQ Members List Groups Calendar Chat Room Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-28-2007, 01:18 AM   #1
liamsaturn
liamsaturn is on a distinguished road

Default rust rear doors

Greetings all
92 S series
I am a newbie to the forum as well as to saturns
so far so good, I am impressed with what I have seen except the rust
is there a quick fix for the metal slat/post between the roll down window and the fixed glass in the rear doors
of course all metal is gone at the door jam below the plastic, That I can repair
but I am not familar with the doors
Do I need to replace the doors?
can the slats/post be replaced, fixed?
any cool tricks or ideas???

ThanksLiam

REWARD EXCELLENCE!

Add to liamsaturn's Reputation
Rate the quality of this post and help liamsaturn reputation points. Click the reputation button near the bottom left corner of this message box. Thank you!
liamsaturn is offline   Reply With Quote
SaturnFans.com Sponsored Links
Old 06-28-2007, 08:53 AM   #2
HStockSolo
HStockSolo is on a distinguished road

1995 SC2
Default Re: rust rear doors

Quote:
Originally Posted by liamsaturn View Post
is there a quick fix for the metal slat/post between the roll down window and the fixed glass in the rear doors
of course all metal is gone at the door jam below the plastic, That I can repair
Quickest is to replace the entire door including the door hinges (they are easier to bolt/un bolt to the body than the door.)

That piece of frame and that little triangular window are a seperate replaceable part. I got two nice rear doors w/ hinges from a 1995 SL1 from the self-service junkyard. I pulled out those windows and exchanged them with the rusted through ones on my 1995 SW2, and then returned the SL1 doors for a refund.